Jump to content
Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

Recommended Posts

Guys first post in awhile, so hello!  
So, while I am really strong on the World-that-Was lore, I am admittedly weak on AoS lore.  Anyhow is there any suggestions in the current narrative and/or supplement materials on who the "mighty ally" that Nagash is trying to free from the Stromvaults mentioned in that text extract might be? Any thoughts on whether it is some from his former Mortarchs for which we still don't have models for or something completely else? Also, does it tie up with the couple of rumor engine teases with deathly aesthetics in any way?  

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Posted (edited)
9 minutes ago, Sir Grimm said:

Guys first post in awhile, so hello!  
So, while I am really strong on the World-that-Was lore, I am admittedly weak on AoS lore.  Anyhow is there any suggestions in the current narrative and/or supplement materials on who the "mighty ally" that Nagash is trying to free from the Stromvaults mentioned in that text extract might be? Any thoughts on whether it is some from his former Mortarchs for which we still don't have models for or something completely else? Also, does it tie up with the couple of rumor engine teases with deathly aesthetics in any way?  

Settra!😝

(Edit: the lore from forbidden chambers are rather well unknown right now. If I’m not mistaken than we just got a few interesting short story’s telling us how the skaven purposely opened the chamber (definitely on purpose) as for anything else, we’ll i think will be getting more information and maybe a new army, or re-ruled Faction that rises from the pits of  darkness (maybe) in the upcoming weeks, when Sylvaneth hopefully are being officially released)

Edited by Skreech Verminking

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
2 minutes ago, Skreech Verminking said:

Settra!😝

Yeah, no! As much as I would love to see Settra make a comeback, I cannot see it coming. Especially now that he has been confirmed as a Stormcast.. :/ Additionally, Settra was never anything close to an ally to Nagash, so no on that field as well.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Posted (edited)

but in forbidden powers is it said who is liberated?

 

i cant see it

 

Edited by zamerion
  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Posted (edited)

A few little tidbits from the book courtesy of Guerilla miniatures. Mercenaries work like allies with the additional penalty that you don't get your first command point. So it is essentially a 50 point tax. You can't take rune fathers,  terrorgheists or zombie dragons. You can't take mercenaries from more than one company in the same army. The new scenery piece costs 100 points. 

Edited by Chikout
  • Like 4

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Terrain unboxing
Have to say it looks satisfyingly bigger in the video than in the production shots. So this is going to be nice and big for the table! 
I like how modular the whole design is, you can clearly see how with a couple of the same kits you can combine add and remove parts to your own desires. GW has also been smart with the layout, matching up segments of rock to the join line which is a very neat feature, esp if you decided to not glue the larger base segments together and just had them free held together; letting you buy one now and perhaps expand later with another kit or add yours to a friends. 

The sprues are also very clearly broken up into groups for separate moulds. This clearly means GW could split these kits down into probably not many more smaller, cheaper kits for combined building later or expansions. That's a very neat feature and has left the doors open to letting gamers get at some of the terrain at more affordable prices in the future. 

Only thing I might say is a downside is GW putting the Sigmar statue in EVERY box, kinda feel that they could have left it out of one or two, but otherwise looks like a really solid release and some big interesting terrain! 

 

 

  • Like 5

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
2 hours ago, Chikout said:

A few little tidbits from the book courtesy of Guerilla miniatures. Mercenaries work like allies with the additional penalty that you don't get your first command point. So it is essentially a 50 point tax. You can't take rune fathers,  terrorgheists or zombie dragons. You can't take mercenaries from more than one company in the same army. The new scenery piece costs 100 points. 

Not sure why everyone has to pay for the scenery when certain armies get it for free :/ ph well, pretty much guarantees I pass on this then.

  • Haha 1
  • Confused 5

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

@PrimeElectrid That's because faction specific scenery is already included in point values of that faction units. That scenery is not faction specific so it needs a point cost.

  • Thanks 8

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
21 minutes ago, michu said:

@PrimeElectrid That's because faction specific scenery is already included in point values of that faction units. That scenery is not faction specific so it needs a point cost.

Are Skaven and FEC really paying for their terrain? How much PPM is that?

  • Confused 5

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Listen, it's not that FEC and Skaven have "XX points" tax for their scenery during army building. That tax was already added during creating the battletome. Look at the example - Gloompsite Gitz scenery is part of their allegiance abilities so it's already included in their point costs. If Gitz wouldn't have that scenery (and ability it provides) they would be cheaper. We don't know how many points were added to their point values, we just know they were added.

  • Thanks 2
  • Confused 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I for one am happy that that terrain costs points as much as it does. Last thing I wanted was being forced to buy this set for some neutral scenery. Now its main purpose is being interesting terrain piece for narrative and maybe some specific army build (command point thirsty armies can really use that terrain).

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
6 hours ago, GeneralZero said:

What I want in a decor in addition to  mood & view : 2 mainn points.

- LOS blocking : height/large enough to  block the enemy vision

The new scenery is tall enough to block LoS for a regular infantry unit and if stacked is big enough to block LoS to something taller (e.g. Khorgorath).  Speaking to the designer the intention is that it wasn't made too tall as your big centrepiece miniatures shouldn't be cowering behind random sections of terrain.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Posted (edited)
4 hours ago, michu said:

@PrimeElectrid That's because faction specific scenery is already included in point values of that faction units. That scenery is not faction specific so it needs a point cost.

Exactly.

Ppl can fight about if specific scenery is pointed correctly but this is the idea. Every units points in the tome assumes you are including the scenery and using it’s rules (in the same way temples, abilities, etc are factored into a units points).

No army specific scenery is “free”.

It’s included in the point cost of the rest of the army. (Albeit not always pointed correctly)

Edited by svnvaldez
  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
3 hours ago, Mandzak-Miniatures said:

So who was in the lake?

I wanna know it too but maybe is too early to make that spoiler

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
13 minutes ago, Hoseman said:

I wanna know it too but maybe is too early to make that spoiler

As long as someone puts it in a spoiler tag then I’d like to know as well as I will not be buying forbidden power.

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Posted (edited)

Can FEC still use their battletraits as mercenaries ? I hope so because I really struggle to see the benefits of taking them without their double pile in and after saves.

Edited by Sigmarusvult

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Posted (edited)
34 minutes ago, Sigmarusvult said:

Can FEC still use their battletraits as mercenaries ? I hope so because I really struggle to see the benefits of taking them without their double pile in and after saves.

Nope, all the fancy FEC abilities are Allegiance Abilities. The only things that work are abilities on the warscroll like summoning.  It seems to work just like allies but with some minor tweaks.  

Edited by TheWilddog
  • Thanks 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Guys. Why is nobody speaking about the extreme injustice of the birddog statues only being in the most expensive terrain kit!!!??!??????!!?!????!!!!

  • Sad 2

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Posted (edited)
1 hour ago, TheWilddog said:

Nope, all the fancy FEC abilities are Allegiance Abilities. The only things that work are abilities on the warscroll like summoning.  It seems to work just like allies but with some minor tweaks.  

Didn't a Community article specifically say that they keep their allegiance abilities?

Edited by mikethefish

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
30 minutes ago, Riavan said:

Guys. Why is nobody speaking about the extreme injustice of the birddog statues only being in the most expensive terrain kit!!!??!??????!!?!????!!!!

Because such is the price one has to pay for perfection - you couldn't well have the hounds seated upon anything less than the most impressive of terrains!

  • Haha 2

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
6 minutes ago, Overread said:

Because such is the price one has to pay for perfection - you couldn't well have the hounds seated upon anything less than the most impressive of terrains!

But then it's harder to have terrain entirely comprised of bird dogs.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
51 minutes ago, mikethefish said:

Didn't a Community article specifically say that they keep their allegiance abilities?

No, they never said anything like that. You can see the page about mercenaries in one of the review videos. The wording is exactly the same as for allies. The mercenaries have a few extra rules, like losing a command point and a specific positive and negative ability for each warband. For example the fec get a bonus on the charge but can never retreat. I think the rules for them are pretty well balanced so far.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...