Multipart kits vs Single Cast

Nos

I've maintianed 2 things pretty consistently about models in the hobby in my years in and out of wargaming:

A) I hate making them

B) GW Makes the best ones without exception

Primarily I'm a painter now, I don't have much time for gaming and would much rather use it for paitining when time is limited, so very much coming at it from that perspective. Obviously if you like playing warhammer games you're tied into the models to a fairly non-Negotiable degree.

But I have been amazed by the quality of some boardgame miniatures I bought recently, just for the purpose of painting. They were designed by Adrian Smith and Mike McVey, who were absolutley key figures in the Warhammer aesthetic mid-late 90s. The details are crisp to the point that they make a lot of my GW stuff feel like Duplo.

More to the point, I got about 60 of them at about £2 per model, and an entire board game on top of it all. And I don't have to stick them together. The more I've looked into similar items, the more I've realised that there are an increasing number of companies able to offer sculpts which either rival GW models in quality for slightly less price, or are slightly inferior but available by the absolute job load for an equivalent amount . 

Basically, they are my first real engagement with the possibilities of modern technology and miniature production outside of GW (not even going to touch on 3d printing) , and it's radically altered me perspective on the vale of and approach to GW models. 

I get why some people like models as kits, it's not for me but I get it. But I guess aside from the modelling possibilities (which, compared to about ten years ago, are dramaticlly reduced witout consierable modelling skills, even stuff like simple head swaps etc are far more complex) I had always thought it was the only way to create quality. I now realise this isn't true at all.