The state of Skirmish - and how to approach it as a new player?

[Apologies if this is in the wrong place, but I couldn't find a dedicated Skirmish subforum or anything!]

I'm just getting into AOS for the first time, after having been away from wargames for about 10 years. I've always been a huge fan of skirmish games, and as the booklet's pretty cheap, I thought I might as well pick it up and see what it's like.

As I expected from what I'd read online, it's pretty slight and quite rough around the edges. Taken as a competitive game, it seems totally unbalanced and thrown-together - but it seems like, as long as it's not taken too seriously, there's enough there to have £6 worth of fun with while I work on painting my AOS army. 

BUT it's pretty clear that it's going to need some house rules if I want it to work even just as a beer-and-pretzels game. My question is, in the years since it was released, and in the light of the changes to the core rules in 2e, is there a set of 'standard' fixes people tend to use? Without getting too complicated or fiddly, what are the house rules everyone should use? 

And what renown point level is advised to start with? 25 is so clearly too low that it's left me confused - I've got a Stormcast collection, and even at 40 my warband would only be three models, due to how expensive heroes are. It occurred to me you could maybe solve this problem by ditching heroes altogether and just getting everyone to designate a unit champion as their hero instead, with that model getting all the usual artifacts and abilities - would that work? 

TL;DR - What house rules should I use for Skirmish and how many renown points should a warband be?