Sable brush discussion - including GW sable

Hi everybody

Im only a basic painter but last week decided to treat myself to a proper fine paintbrush from GW in order to do the new male Knight Incantor justice (stunning model). While browsing the descriptions i noticed that many of their brushes are made of 'sable.' not knowing what on earth that was had a quick google and basically it is a member of the weasel family, usually now farmed for its fur. Its soft, dense fur makes a good brush which explains its use but i had always assumed (if i had thought about it) that brushes nowadays were synthetic. Now, i dont need to buy it but it has kind of ruined the hobby a bit for me, knowing that a rather cute animal was probably senselessy killed to paint all the awesome miniatures i usually love to oogle. Love to know if anyone else is bothered by this? 

I had thought they were from the hair from a horse's tail but that doesn't seem to be the case. 

This is an interesting development: 'Beginning in 2013, shipments to the U.S. of kolinsky hair brushes have been halted and in some cases seized by the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service due to the kolinsky's inclusion in the international CITES agreement.' from https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kolinsky_sable-hair_brush

If you aren't comfortable buying Kolinsky Sable brushes you should totally 'vote with your dollar'. I can see someone who is vegan avoiding them for example. In any case there are plenty of very good painters who feel that synthetic brushes are fine, so there are options if you aren't down with the sable brushes. 

10 minutes ago, hughwyeth said:

I didn't know about this. I also thought it was horse tail! They are my favourite brush. Does anyone know how the animals are treated? Is it battery type faming?