Jump to content
Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
Chris Tomlin

AoS 2 - Stormcast Eternals Discussion

Recommended Posts

I still think it is too binary a list. You either smash them or have no way of competing. Not to mention how dull an experience it is to play versus.

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Stormbro's! Lightning round question. 

I'm about to start building my second unit of Vanguard Raptors. I would like to be able to field them as three and 6 man squads. And later on as 3x3 and a 9 squad. But what to do with the champions and the irregular bases?

Currently my best idea is to build two bases and magnetise the feet. Or maybe a rock or something he stands on. 

Anyone that has a better idea?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, Kramer said:

Stormbro's! Lightning round question. 

I'm about to start building my second unit of Vanguard Raptors. I would like to be able to field them as three and 6 man squads. And later on as 3x3 and a 9 squad. But what to do with the champions and the irregular bases?

Currently my best idea is to build two bases and magnetise the feet. Or maybe a rock or something he stands on. 

Anyone that has a better idea?

I built one champion in the aiming pose on the long base and just perched the bird on the bow, close to his head. Worked out pretty well.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
31 minutes ago, OkayestDM said:

I built one champion in the aiming pose on the long base and just perched the bird on the bow, close to his head. Worked out pretty well.

Yeah and just accept that it’s a different base? Or did you find a solution for that? 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
29 minutes ago, Kramer said:

Yeah and just accept that it’s a different base? Or did you find a solution for that? 

Nope, just went with the different base.

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Guys a question about eatherwings. Can i move them 2d6 within 3" of an enemy unit that  is charging if im within 18" my longstrike unit?or i have to move maximum 3" far enemy unit like normal? Ty all!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
3 hours ago, Tizianolol said:

Guys a question about eatherwings. Can i move them 2d6 within 3" of an enemy unit that  is charging if im within 18" my longstrike unit?or i have to move maximum 3" far enemy unit like normal? Ty all!

You can move them within 3" of an enemy and therefore prevent them to make a charge. It can win you games

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
8 hours ago, azdimy said:

You can move them within 3" of an enemy and therefore prevent them to make a charge. It can win you games

I also play it this way, but what is the exact rules wording, that allows me to do so? Isn't generally entering the 3" zone forbidden without a charge move?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Posted (edited)
51 minutes ago, Diogenes said:

I also play it this way, but what is the exact rules wording, that allows me to do so? Isn't generally entering the 3" zone forbidden without a charge move?

Yes, it was clarified  on page 5  in the Core rule designer commentary pdf as it is not a normal move, it does not restrict you to finish more than 3" away from the enemy

Edited by azdimy

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
3 hours ago, Diogenes said:

I also play it this way, but what is the exact rules wording, that allows me to do so? Isn't generally entering the 3" zone forbidden without a charge move?

You are misunderstanding how movement works in this game.

You can't end a move within 3" of an enemy model during the movement phase. If you make a move in any other phase that rule is not relevant.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Regarding Celestant Prime, I got into a discussion regarding his "retribution from on high", we have been playing it with the Scions of the storm rule of 1 unit on the table for each in the celestial realm, however I got to thinking, that nothing on the Primes warscroll mentions this and the ability seems completely unrelated.

For example, would it then not be possible to have 3 units of liberators on the board and 3 in the celestial realm and then also the prime in the heavens in reserve?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
10 minutes ago, Scurvydog said:

Regarding Celestant Prime, I got into a discussion regarding his "retribution from on high", we have been playing it with the Scions of the storm rule of 1 unit on the table for each in the celestial realm, however I got to thinking, that nothing on the Primes warscroll mentions this and the ability seems completely unrelated.

For example, would it then not be possible to have 3 units of liberators on the board and 3 in the celestial realm and then also the prime in the heavens in reserve?

Yep, the Prime's deepstrike rules are separate from faction rules. He can be up after r3 and he can be +1 in the sky. He doesn't count as 1 of the units in the army in the sky.

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Do i roll for each unit or roll once for MW from Prime shooting attack? 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
8 hours ago, Nizrah said:

Do i roll for each unit or roll once for MW from Prime shooting attack? 

He does D3mw in D6". You roll once.

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

And never forget that a charge roll is 2 d6 so auto 12 inch charge ;) .   Sadly he does ****** damage till turn 3. And even then it is often not enough. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
4 hours ago, Maturin said:

He does D3mw in D6". You roll once.

I dont think so. My TO rules it that you roll for each unit. 

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, Nizrah said:

I dont think so. My TO rules it that you roll for each unit. 

Is it written "roll for each unit" on the warscroll ?
If yes, then proceed as the TO says.
If it's written "does D3MW in a D6" then you do as I said.
A good comparison is the Stardrake warscroll. It does say you have to roll for each unit. The Prime's one doesn't.

 

  • Like 2

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
7 hours ago, Maturin said:

then you do as I said.

Sir, yes sir.  💂 ;) 

The warscroll says; ‘ each unit within d6” of that point suffers D3 mortal wounds’ 

I’ve always interpreted this as roll the d6, check which units are within range. Roll a D3 for each unit. 

in the end it’s just annoying that GW isn’t more exact and standardised with how they word things like those. Similar abilities are/were differently worded on different warscrolls. So I think, especially with an older warscroll, that the comparison to a similar ability doesn’t make it a certainty. 

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
49 minutes ago, Kramer said:

Sir, yes sir.  💂 ;) 

The warscroll says; ‘ each unit within d6” of that point suffers D3 mortal wounds’ 

I’ve always interpreted this as roll the d6, check which units are within range. Roll a D3 for each unit. 

in the end it’s just annoying that GW isn’t more exact and standardised with how they word things like those. Similar abilities are/were differently worded on different warscrolls. So I think, especially with an older warscroll, that the comparison to a similar ability doesn’t make it a certainty. 

Alright lads, atten'hut!
Yeah, GW wording's are inconsistent as they can be that's why we need to check out other scrolls to understand sutff. Pain in the buttocks.

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

So this came up in a game the other day, I read it as you roll a d3 and every unit within the radius takes that many wounds rather than rolling for each but I asked my opponent to read the rule and pick what interpretation they thought fit best and they went for the same even though it meant they would lose 2 heroes from it, so take that for what you will. 

 

 

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Just now, Mattrulesok said:

So this came up in a game the other day, I read it as you roll a d3 and every unit within the radius takes that many wounds rather than rolling for each but I asked my opponent to read the rule and pick what interpretation they thought fit best and they went for the same even though it meant they would lose 2 heroes from it, so take that for what you will. 

 

 

Well that's good gesture on your behalf.
That's how we've played the prime, you can read dozens of pages in the Starcast thread with @Turragor and @Marcvs.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
3 minutes ago, Mattrulesok said:

So this came up in a game the other day, I read it as you roll a d3 and every unit within the radius takes that many wounds rather than rolling for each but I asked my opponent to read the rule and pick what interpretation they thought fit best and they went for the same even though it meant they would lose 2 heroes from it, so take that for what you will. 

 

 

I agree with that. It also makes the whole process shorter than rolling for each unit.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

MODERATOR POST

Ok I've just cleaned out most of that minor spat. People are free to resume posting.

NOTE its ok to disagree when interpreting rules that might have a vague wording or could be missunderstood. Disagreeing is fine, but lets leave out starting to make attacks on other peoples character or to start getting angry when people disagree with your viewpoint. Debate the rule and the point and leave personal comments out of it. 

  • Like 3
  • Thanks 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Trying this again then, but more PC.

The Prime’s comet strike is worded vaguely. Both interpretations can be valid by the way that it’s worded. Rolling a single D3 for the damage instead of for every unit gives you an advantage because you can change the result of the dice with the fates ability.

My preference is that when I’m given a vaguely worded rule that can be interpreted in one of two ways, I choose the one that is worse for me instead of best. I think this is generally a good way to go when looking at rules that could go either way, and it might be a reason the TO rules to roll seperately for each unit.

Finally, on the subject of other similar strike abilities in the book, the fact that they resolve damage on each unit seperate makes me feel that it adds strength to doing the same with the prime. The fact that no other language was used to qualify it, in my opinion, was both for the sake of brevity and also an assumption from the rules writers that it was clear how to do it without needing additional clarity.

 I agree after the subject’s been brought up that the rule could be worded better, and that it needs an FAQ if large pockets of players are playing it two different ways.
 

  • Like 3

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Posted (edited)
14 minutes ago, Mark Williams said:

The Prime’s comet strike is worded vaguely. Both interpretations can be valid by the way that it’s worded. Rolling a single D3 for the damage instead of for every unit gives you an advantage because you can change the result of the dice with the fates ability.

My preference is that when I’m given a vaguely worded rule that can be interpreted in one of two ways, I choose the one that is worse for me instead of best. I think this is generally a good way to go when looking at rules that could go either way, and it might be a reason the TO rules to roll seperately for each unit.

There was the same heated kind of debate about Longstrike's 24" or 30" before the movement phase, with you and some other guys.
You were a staunch supporter of the 24" rule before any movement applied. You were right as when it got FAQed, it's your vision of the rules that was applied.

Now the thing is, you as an individual always choose to take the side of  what's worst for you. That's your right. 
Now, when I play, I go for what seems to be the most logical. Not whats best for me or whats worst. Sometimes, logic dictates that my opponent gets a really strong feature. Sometimes it's my army.

When you play a 340 points, 3+ save with no invulnerable save 8 wound heroes that can miss a lot with no built in RR fails hits or wounds but has access to ONE result of his choice for ANY(almost) Roll of his choice, it just seems logic, since not contradicted by the rules, that his Scepter attack does the same amount of MW in a radius, and in this case, yes, you can choose it. It seems highly illogical to have a hero as expensive, if he doesn't get at least a trick.

 

Edited by Maturin

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...