Square Bases Opinion:

Galas

I assume someone has to question this in the past... and if this is the wrong forum, please feel free to move or block it.

So, my question is... I still play Warhammer, Kings of War, and other rank-n-file wargames with my collection, but I'm beginnin to play Age of Sigmar to. I know the official rules don't impose round bases, but we all know how that works: If the community don't want square bases you will play with yourself.

As my small group is beginning with Age of Sigmar, only 1 guy has round bases. So... my questions are... playing square bases vs round bases has a big impact in the game? Is notably detrimental to the experience? For now I don't feel that's the case but, as I don't play with round bases I have no experience to compare a square vs square game and a round vs round game.

If I go and play to a club, do you think that I'll have problems playign with square based army? 

Pd: Sorry for my english.

• Replies 162
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I haven't played an event yet where base type/sizes had any restrictions. Generally the only benefit I have seen is the ability to use movement trays and better pile ins. You should have no problem playing locally with squares. 

My own aesthetic preference has always been for round bases.  I never liked squares even when they were the norm, and games that use movement trays are a turn-off for me - why I never played WHF or KoW.  

That said, I certainly wouldn't refuse to play against someone just on account of square bases!

This confort me. Personally, I prefer round bases at an aesthetic level, too. But as I said, I still play rank-n-file games, so I need squares and all my collection is in square bases.