New to AoS - Considering starting Gloomspite Gitz, need advice on possible first purchases.

Nez

Good evening Loonbosses!

I am new to Age of Sigmar, I've picked up a copy of the core rules, and after browsing through the different factions on GW's website, I have settled on the Gitz as the army for my first foray into the Mortal Realms. I've totally fell in love with their models, particularly the Troggoths, Squigs, Arachnarok and Gobbapalooza kits! (So pretty much everything in their range).

However, despite the rule of cool, I'm looking to make some solid foundation purchases first and foremost, models that will form the core of my army and be useful in a number of lists as my collections, and thus options, grow. 

I'm simply looking for some advice on which units will fit the bill for the above needs. I am going to have a good look through the Gloomspite discussion thread when I have more time, however a quick search on the forums didn't turn up much in terms of beginner advice for this faction. 

I'm not going to be playing competitively, more often than not it'll be against friends, and in rare cases the odd pick up game at my local store.

I'd ideally like as much of my army as possible to be plastic, it's much easier to work with and I find the models so much easier to obtain from my local store when they're in plastic.

What kinds of units should I be looking to purchase for some small point games? And what are some ideal unit sizes for the units in question?

Thanks in advance!

Nez

Allegiance: Gloomspite Gitz

Leaders
Skragrott, The Loonking (220)
- General
Fungoid Cave-Shaman (90)

Battleline
60 x Stabbas (360)
- Pokin Spears & Moon Shields
6 x Squig Herd (70)

Total: 740 / 750
Wounds: 82

Personally I would recommend starting with this list. It's 740 points which makes it perfect for smaller games while you learn the rules, uses all the mechanics except endless spells but doesn't have any complicated buff/rules stacking to worry about.