New to AoS, thinking about skaven

Sunspear

I have watched a few batreps, read a few articles and looked at the models. I really like the verminus, but from what I have read they aren't in a great place right now. 

Im totally new to this so any advise would be appreciated. I'm not a hyper competitive player, I would just like something that would be fun to play and have a chance of winning and making for a good game 

If you're looking at Verminus (Clans and Storms) as the core of your army I'd recommend not getting too caught up on maintaining Verminus allegiance and rather looking at a generic Chaos army with a focus on Skaven. There are decent (if not top tier) synergies and nice models to work with within that brief. While pan-Skaven armies only have synergies generally within their Clans, there is still a good selection of individually strong units to fill most niches.

If you are thinking skaven, go general chaos with a Grey Seer. The magic range and command ability make him useful each turn. 

I have built a verminus heavy skaven army recently and I like it. It is not OP in the current meta but does well enough. I like 4 rat ogres, chaos sorcerer on mount, arch warlock, and warplock engineer as supplimental troops. I also have 2 poison wind launchers and 2 warpfire throwers. All that on top of 100 clan rats and 20 stormvermin.

I built my army to be melee and magic heavy. Jezzails and stormfields are looking like good supliments.

The army is 50% win loss and they were all close. 

The surprising part for me has been the mobility and magic power.

The arch warlock is also a huge champ.

It is not top tier army but it is fun and feels very skaven-like.

Verminlord Warbringer or Verminking are good combined with a verminus list and both can deal the hurt 1-on-1.

A lot of synergies have been lost since GH17 so there isn't too much trickiness you can do, but Stormvermin still hit hard and clanrats aren't bad mainstays.