From the Fen (a Fimir Blog)

Shearl

Hello Everyone,

This is my first post on this forum and decided it was about time to join and contribute.

First a bit of fluff (might not be for everyone, I'm not a professional writer :D)

Start

Kernitz hobbled down the rough road leaning heavily on his gnarled staff. While the man’s form was wizened with age, within him dwelled powers which could only bestowed by dark, unspeakable evils. Kernitz passed the hours each day toiling as a scribe within the grand libraries of Arnsburg, it was there, surrounded by books describing the world that was, that he began his path to enlightenment. At first he studied in secret and eagerly consumed as much of the forbidden truths as he could find within the ancient tombs. Eventually Kernitz found kindred spirits in the forms of other scholars, and those who ventured outside the city walls, namely foreign merchants and returning soldiers; some bringing the insights only firsthand accounts could provide. It was then that Kernitz realized incredible knowledge, and through it, power, lie hidden awaiting the eager mind.

Kernitz frequented the gatherings of the city’s coven, yet over the decades he had grown increasingly disgruntled with the timid goals of the cult. Many of his fellow worshipers of the blessed Changer sought a subtle approach and devised ways to slowly infiltrate the hierarchy of the city, eventually bringing enlightenment to its inhabitants. Yet as each year passed he became more aculty aware of his dwindling form. While his devotion was great and he had grown adept with the arcane, his lord had not gifted him with any boons to extend his life or augment his physical vessel. No, blessings require achievements he thought to himself. And if he was to attract the attention of his god it would have to be of his own volition, and not with those cowards in the city.