So I'm torn between these two factions as my first army, I've played Warhammer 40k, never touched fantasy, but more and more of my gaming group are moving to AoS. A game I have little knowledge of.

But the two armies that interest me are the Skaven, the horde mentality, pestilence, miasma of suffering and infighting between clans all serving the great horned rat. Then the grand alliance of Death, skeletons, zombies and fantastic beasts led by necromancers and vampires, what more could you want?  I would eventually like to play both but, right now. I don't have the money.

So my main question is. What is the current state of the game with these two armies, is one easier to build good strategies with? Does one have any particular strength or weakness over the other? Also which of the starter boxes is the better value? Any help for this novice would be greatly appreciated.

I'm seriously biased, I'd say Skaven :) They have a good Start Collecting in the Pestilens box just for the Screaming Bell and Warplightning Cannon you can build out of it alone. There is also the crazy good deal of the Spire of Dawn set.

You can build a really good, competitive list from the Verminus Clawpack battalion alone. They have some really strong synergy, and the more Clan Rats you take the better they become. This is really good in board control. Their heroes help out a lot too. Also, they're shooting. All of Chaos borrows their Stormfields and Warplightning Cannons. Jezzails are really good, so are Rattling Guns and when close up Warpfire Throwers just douse things in Mortal Wounds. 

I find that Skaven have all the tools, in multiples, that you will need to be competitive and play a great game.

I am also biased. However....

Death Alliance seems not to have much love from GW. Also there armies have no shooting.