New Player, New Army Decisions

Sorceress

So I am new to AOS, I have played 40K for more than a decade and almost played fantasy but never really got around to doing more than making a mordhime warband.

I find myself wavering back and forth over several possible factions and finding the right balance between fluff I can get behind and models/ rules I like is difficult. For a little background I started 40K with Blood Angels, and eventually moved into Thousand Sons both of which I do love, though I am not a fan of demons and avoid them totally in my 1k Sons. For fantasy the two armies I was most interested in where the wood elves. (I am a sucker for dangerous Fae and Elemental magic) My biggest hesitation with wood elves was in the painting, I am not great, my hands like to shake and so flesh tones and little elves are very difficult. My other temptation was Vampire Counts which I did build a warband of for mordhime but never really built  up, though I have a scattering of older models. I love vampires, did not love the idea of having to buy and paint a ton of extra models to summon mid game.

I like strong effective magic and flavorful characters, I tend to like more massed troops than big monsters, though some biggies are fun.

My current list of armies I am considering is a bit of a mixed bag.

Tzeetch Arcanites, I sorta accidentally already own this army, well most of it due to playing thousand sons. Not being a fan of tzeetch demons really puts a dampener on many aspects of it, especially in light of 2.0 with there summoning rules baked into the army.

Wanderers, This one is a outlier, I like most of the models in the line, and the idea of playing  a ranged army in a mostly melee game is appealing but they lack a true battle tome and I really don't think I can deal with the level of flesh and blood painting I would need to do to come close to this army. In addition it really isen't very magical. Most of the old wood elf magic made its way into Sylvaneth.