Bleep Bloop's Mengel Minis Season of War Paint Log

Hi there.  I'm Bleep Bloop.  This is the painting log of my entry for Tyler Mengel's Season of War Painting Competition.  Tyler is an amazing painter and hobbyist, and generously holds fun, community painting competitions with prize support.  I'm a notoriously slow painter and up against the competition deadline, so I hope I can finish in time!

I decided to work on my Mortis Engine...let's see if this turns out to be a good idea or not. :-)

One thing that has bugged me about most Mortis Engines I've seen is the terrible mold line running along either side of the necromancer's cloak.  I'm determined that mine will have no such line.  A zillion layers of liquid green stuff later, we're in business!

IMG_4959.JPG 

Just starting to block in some values on the altar and stonework:

IMG_4956.JPG

IMG_4954.JPG

17 hours ago, Callidan said:

Wow Dude I love your work. Can I ask how did you do the bone? 

Thanks Callidan! Sure, Here goes:

-I start with a black undercoat
-base coat with Liquitex burnt sienna (leaving deep recesses black)
-layering with gradually lighter layers of burnt sienna+ Vallejo Bonewhite (3-4 layers)
-final layer with vallejo bonewhite+skull white (about 3:1)

for layering, I always mix in Liquitex slo-dry medium to keep it very thin and fluid.  I love that stuff. Thin layers I find are the key for building up translucency and depth.

I made a bit more progress on the Mortis Engine chassis.  I've worked on the flames and torsos that will flank the necromancer. Wow, those took a while! All the bone areas will get one more selective highlight to make them pop.  At this point the altar is just dry-fit to get an overall feel.
FullSizeRender-8.jpg

Here's where their missing heads are!