What armies can I safely collect

Hi,

I am new to AOS, but a vet in general. I am having loads of fun. The new simplified and intuitive system works perfect, when you do not have endless amounts of time to play. I have one major issue/question and I need your help!

My problem is in relation to choosing armies. Me and my usual opponent like to stick to the old groupings of the factions btw. I am unsure what factions are "safe" to invest in. For instance, the Lizardmen of old got transformed into Seraphon. But how about High elves or Dark elves and all the others? Is it safe to invest in Witch Elves or Scourge Privateers now that some new kind of shadow elves are coming out? Is it a sound investment for me to build my High elves collection bigger (started out with four boxes of Spire of Dawn).  Should I concentrate my collections around battletomes or... and so on O.o

So what do you think? What is consensus - is there one? What do you do yourself? Any comments are more than welcome :)  

As Dez says, things that are still in the webstore will stick. Maybe they will be modernized like The Changeling and the Lord of Change, but you will still have the rules to use it. 

Maybe things that you buy for a Faction will be enrolled in a bigger faction like the Mortal Tzeentch and Demon Tzeentch get all fusioned in Disciples of Tzeentch, but models and rules are safe to not be Squatted.

But, the "general" impresion its that the armys of the old world will not receive new content probably in the near future, and if they are not fussed with new AoS factions (Like black orcs becoming Ardboyz) its probably that they will be like the Sister of Battle. You can play with them and buy them, but not expect new rules. 

So you think that nice 1000 points worth of Witch elves is a good investment, but also a kind of dead end?