Nord's Painting Saga (Jul17Spirits Arise)

Nord

A little background before the pictures. I collected and played WHFB for a good few years off and on, starting way back in the early 90's and then stumbling to a halt just before the End Times series. I tried a few games of AOS but never really liked it, but collecting and painting has always been my main driver so here I am. Still painting after all these years, playing the odd skirmish game like Saga or Dragon Rampant, but mostly just painting. 

I have a number of projects on the go, but my main focus at the moment is some Undead. I started playing Undead way back when they were still called Undead - my first army had skeletons and zombies shuffling alongside mummies and carrion, led by a Liche. So I am quite happy to throw in different genres, not tied to any particular army list or background. My first unit is an example of this - some ghouls led by a ghoul master/butcher. 

rFOBkdK.jpg

These are The Hobbit goblins with a few bits (handbags) trimmed off, plus an old metal Ogre Kingdoms butcher. 

Comments, suggestions, feedback, free gifts are all welcome. :D

Thanks guys. There's not much patience required, these are fairly speedily painted. The gore and grime is mostly stippled on, just one or two applications is all that's needed. 

I thought exactly the same as Routasydän, looks very much like Mika's ghouls back in the days. Which is a good thing because they were awesome. :) 

Lovely painting. Realistic, messy and muted. Just how I like it :) Looking forward seeing more stuff!

• 2 months later...
  • 4 weeks later...
  • 8 months later...
19 hours ago, Redmanphill said:

I remember a paint style just like this.... hmmm on the old Warhammer Forum I think. Would I be correct?

I might have been there for about ten years, in the "old" days ;)

Wow your undead look absolutely nasty (which is a good thing!) Love your realistic neutral colour painting style. Cool to see old minis I've never seen before, and