Army-building woes: the concept

Immersturm

Hello there! Freshly joined and ready to go ;)

In short, I have been playing SCE since release in 2015, but mostly with borrowed models. Now it is time to build up my own army while taking a minor break from 40k... Yeah, the recent release was very emotionally draining for a Space Wolf :D

Anyway, let's get this trainwreck moving. I am not entirely sure how I want to approach this. In general, I am rather open-minded about what army to pick. What matters is the concept. I am an avid Space Wolves player and the nordic theme is firmly engraved into my soul. It is only natural that I want the same in my AoS. I launched several attempts and I already got a few ideas to present.

I narrowed to down to Stormcasts and Khorne Mortals (KBB and STD). For the Khorne mortals, it is fairly self explanatory. I was looking at a mix between KBB, STD, Chaos Monsters and Everchosen. Chaos Warriors, Knights, Varanguard, the usual business. Do not kill me, but I want to de-Chaosify it to make room for nordic runes and ice-based weaponry. The issue with that idea is that the army is not as fun to play and underperforms.

The SCE idea, however, it rather peculiar. This is the style I want to try with it. In terms of fluff it is supposed to be a rather independent Chamber that has spend/is still spending a lot of time in the realm of beasts. As such I am looking to mount the Dracoth riders on Mournfangs, use Fenrisian Wolves as Gryph Hounds, engrave runes and so forth into their armour and making the Prime into a dragon-rider (using the Warp Dragon from FW). While I genereally favour this idea, my biggest issue with it is the lack of diversity within the army itself. Judicators look exactly like Paladins or Liberators. Chaos at least has different sillhouettes while SCE are all the same base model. Also, the wing guys realyl annoy me.