Starting new army....or maybe not.

Tasman

I've been playing chaos extensively for over 25 yrs. I've obviously amassed a large collection in this amount of time.(30k+ pts worth).

I've been thinking of either:

A. expanding my chaos forces with skaven. 

Pros- Works with what I already have. Adds LOTS of ranged attacks to an army that sadly lacks it. Lots of really cool monsters/characters.

Cons- Horde army. LOTS of rats to paint.

Or:

B. FEC. 

Pros- From the little I've seen, a pretty hard to kill army with a lot of attack output. Lots of cool monsters/characters. Good synergy. Easy to paint.

Cons- Not sure here, hence the posting. 

Here's your chance to convert me to death.

He may not like the fluff/look of them, I don't know.  For me I love the fluff, I just find them incredibly weak on the table.  They die like flies to anything that can shoot, even in combat they can't get through armor and die easily to retaliation, I find the heroes are super easy to kill with ranged and then they don't get any real defense anymore (no replenish).  It's been pretty well established I am absolutely terrible with FEC though as apparently they are pretty strong, but that's been my experience.  I've lost every game with them so far using a fairly well balanced FEC list.

2 minutes ago, Tasman said:

Ah. Well, the one and only FEC player at our local store has been kicking ass and taking names with them.

What, in your opinion, is better?

I honestly don't know.  I want to like FEC but play experience says the opposite, but it could just be me.