Is priming really necessary?

Wraith01

I'm new to the hobby and keep reading and seeing YouTube videos were people insist priming your models is a necessary step. I don't understand why? The paint sticks well to the plastic without any primer, the colors look just as good...

Is it an aging thing where the paint comes off in 10 or 20 years? Or is it just something that's ingrained in people from when mini's were made out of pewter? 

There are a lot of different reasons.  Off the top of my head:

• it gives more adherence to your top layer paint, so it's less likely to rub off or chip
  • different paints have different coverages and will pool and puddle on raw plastic rather than stick
  • it provides a consistent base colour - GW have used various different plastics over the years and the under colour will taint the top coats equally if you wished to add a resin model to your plastic army they'd end up looking different (and you can't paint on top of resin)
  • you can use the base colour to help with your painting, black inherantly provides darker shading for example
  • if you use masking tape or blutack without some form of primer or undercoat it may well pull the top layers off entirely

Generally if you're likely to use the model to play games a primer or undercoat is a pretty essential step, if it's a display piece then it's less critical

If you're in like the 95th percentile of painters, the colour issues will be important for you.  Otherwise probably not, as natural variations in your painting will probably make a bigger difference.

If you're a gamer, a top coat (or double coat) of varnish will do more to protect your paint job than an undercoat of primer.

That said, if you do a coloured primer, one that is the same colour as the main base coat you intend to use, it can save you a step in painting.

I file priming under "Optional, but usually not" for myself.