New to AOS and thinking of Beastclaw Raiders?

aaronmwolford

Hey guys, I'm totally new to Warhammer, but myself and 3 of my friends have decided to make the plunge and play casually together. We have no intentions of playing competitively. 

So far one has chosen Legions and another Sylvaneth. 

My eyes have been on Beastclaw Raiders simply because I love the miniatures and the aesthetic theme. That said, I basically have one question.

How do they stack up against others? I honestly like the fact that the miniature set is limited, but will that hurt me? Before I make the plunge I just want to make sure that I'll be able to compete with them. I've heard mixed opinions. 

My other options that I'm considering are Skaven or Kharadron Overlords, but they are low on my list. 

If no one is optimizing their lists BCR will be fine and are personally my fav destro army. BCR is not a power house thou and you will never feel like you have the upper hand in any game.

BCR may get a new tome so that’s nice.

If you ever plan to enter a tournament with the BCR you’ll be incredibly disappointed. There is no build in the BCR book that can play vs LoN tournament lists.

Long and short it really depends on what your definition of competitive is. LoN can be very suffocating even in casual games with its recursion if your opponent plays lots of skeletons, or dips into Nighhaunt.

BCR are an army that really struggles. Due to the model count the objective game is non-existent for you. You'll be looking to table your opponent to win games. But despite that there monsters *can* hit very hard. Allies can provide some bodies in a casual list, especially fluffy if you consider 12 Ogors from gutbusters and paint them up to match your guys as hunters.