Do Ironjawz Ardboys shields stop mortal wounds?

Superninja

Question

I've been searching around these forums and others to find this answer and I have found a lot of different opinions.  I am new to the game and I want to be sure I play correctly.  Do we have a final answer on this situation? Please forgive me if this has be finalized and I just haven't found it yet.

9 answers to this question

On 14/04/2018 at 7:34 PM, Superninja said:

I've been searching around these forums and others to find this answer and I have found a lot of different opinions.  I am new to the game and I want to be sure I play correctly.  Do we have a final answer on this situation? Please forgive me if this has be finalized and I just haven't found it yet.

Hi,

The Orruk Forged shields only ignore damage against regular wounds, Mortal Wounds would automatically go through.

As an example, let's say a unit of 'Ardboyz are attacked by a unit of Bloodletters.  The Bloodletters roll 20 attack dice to hit, needing a 4+ to hit and rolls of a 6 becoming a mortal wound.  Let's say they get 12 hits, with 3 of them becoming mortal wounds.  They roll 9 to wound dice, scoring 4 wounds at -1 rend.

The 'Ardboyz roll 4 save rolls - getting 2, 3, 5, 6.  The rend changes those rolls to 1, 2, 4, 6 - 'Ardboyz have an armour save of 4+, so they've saved two.  Then, using their Orruk Forged Shields ability, they roll two dice to see if the can ignore the remaining two damage - getting a 1 and a 6!  That means they can ignore one damage.

So end result is four wounds - one "regular" wound and three mortal wounds.

Here's another example but against a model with multiple damage.

Your unit of 'Ardboyz has been attacked by an evil Morghast with it's spear.  The Morghast manages to land an impressive 4 wounds on you at -2 rend with a scary 3 damage a piece!