Jump to content
Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

Tutenkharnage

Members
  • Content Count

    173
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Community Reputation

51 Celestant-Prime

1 Follower

About Tutenkharnage

  • Rank
    Protector

Recent Profile Visitors

137 profile views
  1. Tutenkharnage

    Multiple Reaction

    No. Once you play Aggressive Defence and make your own Attack action, you are past the “after” part of your oponent’s Attack action. (Your opponent can definitely play My Turn in response to your Aggressive Defence, though!)
  2. Tutenkharnage

    Let's Chat: Mollog's Mob

    Potion of Constitution is fantastic. It has the added bonus of making it very difficult for your opponent to score Precise Use of Force or any similar objective. It also means that your opponent has to do 4 damage to take a fighter with 3 Wounds out of action but can’t use Gloryseeker to do it.
  3. Tutenkharnage

    Shadespire community FAQ

    No, because the trapped rule only applies to an attack that would normally be unsuccessful because you didn't roll more successes than your target. It isn't related to what we're talking about, which is what happens if you make a successful attack action.
  4. Tutenkharnage

    Shadespire community FAQ

    No, because you clearly "resolve the action" by putting wound tokens on the fighter, and as soon as the number of tokens is high enough, the fighter is taken out of action. You're trying to argue that the sequence goes like this: Place the wound tokens. Drive the fighter back. Take the fighter out of action if you can. The rules on page 20 clearly state that there is nothing that happens between step 1 and step 3; it's "if wound tokens are high enough, the fighter is taken out of action."
  5. Tutenkharnage

    Shadespire community FAQ

    A fighter who is taken out of action can't be pushed back. The "Out of action" section on page 20 states, "Once a fighter has a number of wound tokens on their fighter card equal to or greater than their Wounds characteristic, they are taken out of action. Remove them and their tokens from the battlefield and clear all tokens from their fighter card." If your attack is successful, you resolve the action and damage the fighter before checking whether the fighter can be driven back. Since the fighter would be removed from the battlefield immediately, the fighter cannot be driven back.
  6. Tutenkharnage

    Let's Chat: Godsworn Hunt

    The relics need to be banned. (Putting them on the restricted list would have the same effect, since you need six to make the set work.) The fact that someone in a recent tournament recognized that there are enough free-upgrade ploys to make them viable is worrisome.
  7. Tutenkharnage

    Let's Chat: Mollog's Mob

    Preview of all the cards is now available at Can You Roll a Crit?: https://canyourollacrit.com/2019/01/22/mollogs-mob/
  8. Tutenkharnage

    Ready for the flight

    Nothing in the rules requires a player to declare a target for a Charge action until a fighter is about to make an Attack action. As a result, moving another fighter into attack range will give your opponent a choice of at least two targets.
  9. Tutenkharnage

    Shadespire community FAQ

    I think it is supposed to be scored after the Charge action is complete, and not before. Page 25 of the rulebook states: Objective Cards in the Action Phase: Most objective cards will be scored in the end phase as described to the left. However, some objectives are scored "immediately" – for example, after any action, reaction or gambit – as long as the conditions on the objective card are met. So let's check the text on Change of Tactics: Change of Tactics: Score this immediately if a friendly fighter on Guard makes a Charge action. It doesn't say "declares a Charge action" or "finishes a Move action as part of a charge"; the fighter has to "[make] a Charge action." So what does that mean? Well, according to page 20 of the rulebook: Charge Actions: A Charge action is an action that lets you make a Move action with a fighter as described on page 17, then immediately make an Attack action with them. This is a single activation. To make a Charge action, you must follow all of the rules for Move and Attack actions (see pages 17-18), with the exception that you do not place a Move token next to the fighter after the Move action. Now, I'm not arguing that the rulebook clearly states that you have to wait until the action is over, but I think it strongly implies it. And in order to "make a Charge action," you have to follow all of the rules for Move actions and Attack actions, which you clearly haven't done if you haven't completed your Attack action yet. Contrast this to Cover Ground, which is scored "if a friendly fighter makes a Move action of six or more hexes." You can score this card in the middle of a Charge action, because a Charge action is explicitly a Move action followed by an Attack action—so you can declare your Charge action, finish the Move action, score Cover Ground, draw a new objective card, and make the Attack action. You can even score that card, because—again, according to page 25 of the rulebook—you have completed an action: When an objective card is scored in this way, that player can immediately draw another objective card. Note that you cannot score any objective cards drawn this way until after a subsequent action, reaction or gambit — you cannot draw and immediately score an objective card, even if the conditions on the card have been met. Anyway, that's my take. The four instances of the word "immediately" in the November 2018 Designer's Commentary don't help clarify this issue, but I think the rulebook offers just enough structure to suggest that you have to complete the Charge action in order to score Cover Ground. My two cents.
  10. Tutenkharnage

    The Shadespire News and Rumour Thread

    The only way the card makes its way to the BAR list is if it deserves it, IMO. And what might that scenario look like? Almost every player is packing this card. Many games are decided by which players wrecks the opposing Tome of Offerings fighter first. Too many ploys (Centre of Attention, Mighty Swing, and probably a few others) are being packed to take advantage of Tome of Offerings. If something like that happens, expect to see this card make its way to the BAR list; otherwise, don't.
  11. Tutenkharnage

    Let's Chat: Godsworn Hunt

    As written, you could reveal it before the first activation in any activation phase.
  12. Tutenkharnage

    The Shadespire News and Rumour Thread

    “Apply” is the term GW uses to indicate giving an upgrade to a particular fighter.
  13. Tutenkharnage

    Let's Chat: Godsworn Hunt

    I don’t think we’ll see any score immediately oaths unless they’re fairly hard to trigger. (But keep in mind that if they retain the “reveal before the start of your first activation” language, gaining the extra glory might be very hard.)
  14. Tutenkharnage

    Let's Chat Zarbag's Gits

    Drizgit’s special action allow him and up to two friendly squiqs to make a Move action. You can’t declare a Charge action and use the action on his fighter card; you have to do one or the other. If Drizgit charges, the squigs won’t move with him. (Other Gitz fighters with Scurry are eligible to move whenbhe charges, provided that they haven’t already made a Move action this round.)
  15. Tutenkharnage

    Shadespire community FAQ

    They are considered the same fighter, and the transformation triggers “when this fighter would be taken out of action.” You don’t actually take the fighter out of action, so Abasoth’s Withering remains active until the Brimstone Horrors model is taken out of action.
×