Army specific Scenery (OP?)

Belakor

Hello guys,

I'm pretty new to AoS, reading the battletomes I've seen that the army specific terrain such as the Charnel Throne, ad Moon Loonshrine, ... Cost 0 points. What is this? They are clearly a benefit for your specific army? Who wouldn't take them? Are they allowed in tourments?

Thanks!

• Replies 87
  • Created
  • Last Reply

You should look at it as a Allegiance Ability (which also is pointed "0"), but with a requirement to place down a model, not as an actual model which needs to be costed. 

Theres plenty of army specific terrain (pretty much each book since maggotkin (with some exceptions) has some) and there will be much more to come i think. 

And yes, those are of course allowed in tournaments. Most of them are limited to one set of terrain pieces or they can be bought with points after the first free one. Sylvaneth for example rely heavily on their army specific terrain and can summon those via spell or artefact for example.

I like those as they give each battlefield some nice terrain which goes great with the army using it.

7 hours ago, Belakor said:

Cost 0 points. What is this?

An incentive to buy/use them.

They are clearly a benefit for your specific army?

Yes?

Who wouldn't take them?

Someone who doesn't own the model yet, I guess.

Are they allowed in tourments?

Yes.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Now to pre-empt some possible further questions such as, 'Why, god, why?' I'd say that...

• GW wants the game to be more visually impressive as that catches the eye of interested passers by or people scrolling through on social media and just makes games better. 
  • Terrain (and Endless Spells) makes the game much, much more visually impressive.
  • Ordinary terrain doesn't sell nearly as well though as normal fighty things with big weapons.