Vampire Lord on Zombie Dragon Question

Takaloy

Hey guys, I'm thinking about getting a vampire lord on zombie dragon. First of all, I was wondering if any sets come with it (?) and secondly what are your opinions on the model? (play / power level / usefulness wise ... planning to use him as a general to avoid getting sniped in one turn as he's got a reasonably high wound count)

follow up question: I see that Prince Vhordrai has a separate model, is it just the dragon pose being different or they're actually different models? (possibly would want to play Vhordrai someday ... maybe should work the other way around to pretend Vhordrai to work as a normal Vampire Lord...?)

I have no personal experience with the dragon gameplay-wise, yet. But the FEC starter set has one zombie dragon/terrorgheist, a vampire lord to ride it too. That’s how I got mine, I split the box with a friend. 

It is to my understanding that Prince Vhordrai is simply one of the two heads that come with the set. 

FEC starter set can come with the VLoZD, yes.

as for the VLoZD and how he plays, he’s a beast. Good save, kitted out right he’s hard to kill and he hits hard on th charge. I use him aggressively, but take into account once he’s on the table, all opponents shooting will aim at him.

pronce vhodrai is a beefed up version of the VLoZD, with some cool abilities and slightly more damage on the charge. I’m still yet to use him, but he’s a powerhouse.

advice I can give is yes, field VLoZD in your army. Just don’t commit him into battle alone. He’s best served with some supporting units. He will do the heavy lifting, but a bit of support should see him through and deleting units.

VLOZD has been one of Death's best units for a while.

The new Legions of Nagash book make have shifted things around but he's still solid.

Especially good when dire wolves charge up with him and wrap up the enemies for a turn or two while the VLOZD gets way less damage thrown at him.