Jump to content
Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
  • 0
Zen

Summoning Dryads with Branchwraith in matched play

Question

So, in the new Sylvaneth tome the Branchwraith still summons "only" 2d6 dryads.

At first I thought that these were "free" summons, i.e. You don't need to pay points for them re: summoning rules. This made sense in my head as summoning 2d6 dryads isn't overly strong, and other armies (flesheaters) don't pay points when they re-summon into dead units (which is where the distinction lies)

So the question is: do you pay the whole points cost for the unit of dryads, even if you're summoning, for instance, only 2? 

They're usually 120 pts for 10, so the possibility of having to pay 120 for 2 does not really outweigh the advantage of paying 120 for 12?

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

11 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 2

Consensus at the moment appears to be you pay the cost for however many minimum choices it would take to get that unit on the board.

Sent from my Nexus 5X using Tapatalk

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 2

Page 108 seems pretty clear to me. If you summon 2-10 you would need 120 points remaining in your reinforcement pool. If you summon 11 or 12 you would need 240 points. You could choose to reduce that 11-12 down to 10 if you don't have 240 points remaining.

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

I guess you can also decide not to complete the summon, if you only summon 2.. saving points even if loosing the spell for that turn

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

I have been wondering this as well. Cant see her getting table time in matched play. Also isnt there a minimum unit size? So she will break this as she is most often going to summon below this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

You can pay 240 for 20 dryads on the side. If you roll a 12 you can take those and put them on the board, then you still have 8 left to summon. If you roll 10 the next time, then you only have 8 to deploy. 

If the rules seriously expect you to pay 360 points for 20 dryads because their rule was written poorly - well pretty much everyone is going to be willing to ignore this nonsense and just let you have them for 240.

The new summoning rules have the key limitations but lack clarity and are left wide open for loopholes and problems. I'm hoping the FAQ that comes out with the handbook fixes this.  

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

Well this one is an odd duckling, because most summoning just says drop a whole minimum sized unit on the table.  I'm not sure what they were trying to achieve with her, but they should probably let he add to a unit or increase it to 3D6.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

AoS Facebook's reply is not completely clear, they simply say you have to pay 240 for 12, which makes sense. It does not say whether you would have to pay another 120 to place another 8 (maybe its best to not ask). 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

In the response to me they say she cant go over 10 models, which would make her even worse as a 10, 11,12 nets you 10 models. They dont say you can over spend as you do when building the army. It is wierd as, as mentioned most abilities place a unit ( minimum size).  This ability allows you to place a unit below minimum size at full cost.

 

 

 

 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...