Jump to content
Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

Search the Community

Showing results for tags 'summoning'.



More search options

  • Search By Tags

    Type tags separated by commas.
  • Search By Author

Content Type


Forums

  • TGA Community Rules and Announcements
    • New Member Welcome
    • Site Rules and Announcements
    • Feedback
  • The Grand Alliance Community
    • Age of Sigmar Discussions
    • Rules Questions
    • Narrative and Open Play
    • Underworlds
    • Warcry
    • Warhammer Quest
    • International AoS Communities
  • Organised Play
    • Events
    • Gaming Clubs
    • Age of Sigmar Rankings
  • Choose your Alliance
    • Order
    • Chaos
    • Death
    • Destruction
  • The Painting Table
    • Painting and Modelling
    • Gallery
  • Age of Sigmar Online
    • Podcasts
    • YouTube
    • Age of Sigmar Forums
    • Blogs
    • Facebook
    • Twitch
  • Market
  • Devizes & District AoS's General Discussion
  • Devizes & District AoS's Painting & Modelling

Product Groups

  • Dice
  • T-Shirts
  • Bad Dice TGA Events

Blogs

There are no results to display.

There are no results to display.

Calendars

  • Community Calendar
  • Events UK
  • Events Poland
  • Events USA
  • Events New Zealand
  • Events Canada
  • Events Australia
  • Events Singapore
  • Events The Netherlands
  • Events Sweden
  • Events Germany
  • Events Belgium
  • Devizes & District AoS's Calendar

Find results in...

Find results that contain...


Date Created

  • Start

    End


Last Updated

  • Start

    End


Filter by number of...

Joined

  • Start

    End


Group


About Me

Found 19 results

  1. Do artifacts have to chosen before the game start or can a summoned hero gain one if I have a spare?
  2. If a unit of zombies gains models from the newly dead ability and one of these models dies. Can it be returned using deathly invocation or legion innumerable? Also if the unit is brought back with endless legions does it come back with the unit size of what you paid for or the unit size plus the models gained from the newly dead?
  3. So I play daemons because I like the models and iv3 conveniently collected enough to play aos. I like the idea of playing undivided daemons. I dont want to have to pick 1 type of daemon and in 40k which is what I'm used too it's never been an issue but in aos 2nd ed. It seems like you are punished for trying to do this. Please explain if I'm missing something but does playing grand alliance chaos with all 4 daemons remove my ability to generate summoning points for any faction?
  4. So, If an effect states that I must place a unit within a certain range of another unit, do I have to place all models within that area, or do they just need to start their deployment within the given zone? Concrete example is the Vanguard Wing, where you can quickly run out of sensible deployment ground if you play a lot of Liberators in a single unit. - Do all of them have to stay within 5" of the Prosecutors?
  5. There has been speculation that reinforcement/summoning may change in the future of AOS matched play. Nurgle is doing it different, no longer summoning via spells but rather by contagion point accumulation. Yet at matched play it doesn't seem to have been received as anything game changing due to the requirement of taking reinforcement points still in force. A friend of mine made a suggestion and I thought it had merit, wondering what others thought. Basic way it works would be using summoning points (e.g. contagion points) to summon, paying points depending on what you summon, and those units summoned only last a certain amount of time, usually 1 turn, possibly more, but you can pay to extend their stay. After their time runs out, they start to fade (seraphon)/crumble (undead)/disappear (daemons) etc. Key elements of it are : - Reinforcement points not required to be taken - Summoning systems would move away from using spells to summon and adopt a "summoning points" accumulation systems like Nurgle has - When a unit is summoned, it only lasts 1 turn - You pay more summoning points to make the unit last longer, say another 1 turn Possible changes : - A dice roll could alter how long a unit might stay after initially summoned, or if additional points are paid to extend their stay, might be 2-3 turns at most. Might be roll a d6 and on a 6+ the units stays an additional turn before starting to fade. - Might still require reinforcement points to be taken, but as a maximum pool, meaning if something fades or dies then room in the pool opens and you can summon more units up to the total size of your reinforcement points. So once you expend reinforcement points you can get them back, they aren't one use only. - When units start to fade they lose d6 wounds at the start of each their hero phases It seemed in this way summoning could move away from spells, and to points based systems without getting tooooo out of control, players would need to think about building to accumulate points, when to summon, what to summon, the chance a summoned unit wont hang around too long but if they invested appropriately they could still have benefit of the versatility of choosing what to summon, when to summon, where to summon. Forces could be built to really get behind summoning with some of the usual risks of going too focused, but it seems better than having the risks of the only characters that can summon being sniped off. Its obvious Death are expected to get behind such a mechanic and could get bonuses and such to improve summoning. The whole system seems like it can be easily tweaked by adjusting summoning costs to each unit. What do people think?
  6. Hi, I need some confirmation about summoning. When I summon Herald of Tzeentch in DoT army with Tzeentch allegiance can I choose additional spell from lore of change for him? In my opinion yes but my opponent had different opinion today.
  7. Did GW FAQ summoning to where the entire unit has to be in range of the spell? For example, slann summons up 20 saurus warriors that have to be within 15", can i set them up so that some of them are outside that range, say, strung out in a line across the table (lengthwise). Cant remember them doing it but i want to make sure i didnt miss something.
  8. Good Evening All, So lately I've decided to rebase all the Brets I have lying around and have started thinking about putting together a decent list for 2000 points or so (damn the compendium risk, full speed ahead and all that). This has led me to considering all sorts of options, and one in particular that caught my eye is the Green Knight, due to his unusual deployment and resurrection abilities. The problem? I'm not sure exactly how his self-summoning works in matched play. For those not familiar with those filthy compendium units, here's the relevant rule: This raises a couple of questions regarding how he works in matched play: 1) Since he's summoned after the battle starts, the Green Knight would be paid for using reinforcement points. Does this mean he could be used in any Order army (e.g. Sylvaneth) without breaking allegiance so long as you set the required points aside? 2) If he's killed, disappears, and then is set up again... do you have to pay points for him again? My understanding is that you have to pay points if you set up a new unit, rather than healing an existing one. Being killed, removed from the board, and then set up again X turns later would seem to be a case of this. However, the "Summoned from the Mists" special rule specifically states that "Whenever he returns, all his wounds are healed." This strongly suggests that it is in fact the same Green Knight who is being set up, rather than a new unit, which (presumably) wouldn't require additional reinforcement points. Moreover, the Green Knight is a unique model - "only one of this model can be included in a Pitched Battle army" - so if you have to pay for him again and set up a new unit... you can't because you can only include the Green Knight in your army once. This leads me to two possible interpretations of the rule: 2a) It's the same Green Knight coming back each time, so you only pay reinforcement points for him once, subsequent set-ups are free 2b) It's a new unit being set up each time... but since you can only include one instance of the Green Knight he can only be summoned once To me 2a seems most in line with what's actually written and how the rule was likely intended to work, but I'm not sure if that's the actually the case - RAW, how do you guys think this very unusual character works? Thanks in advance for your input, and fire away!
  9. Can a wizard summon a unit when there isn't another of the same unit already on the table? Basically, the summon ability is granted to the wizard by the unit's warscroll. Is that active and granted to the wizard just because I have the models ready to summon, or only when I've already deployed one of those units? I'm sure this has been asked but all I've managed to find are people arguing over the answer before GHB was released. I've seen very logical and valid arguments for both sides. Hoping the community or GW has landed on an answer!
  10. Hi all, reading through the Sylvaneth Wyldwood thread something occurred to me regarding summoning static entities. The wording on the Wyldwood says that the three bases must be deployed within 1" of eachother. Does this mean a) each citadel wood base must be deployed within 1" of another citadel wood base allowing a line as long as each base is 1" of another, or b) each wood must be deployed so that it is within 1" of both other wood bases in the warscroll? Obviously this could dramatically effect the way in which these woods are able to deploy. Does this particular wording come up anywhere else?
  11. Hi Chaos players, I'm a 40k Tzeentch Daemon transplant giving AOS a try....fortunately already owning quite a few demon models. I've learned a lot just lurking and searching threads on this forum, but I wanted to ask three quick questions to help out my army list tinkering. I've only played a few games so far. First, I own models which I understand are more hit or miss in AOS (screamers, flamers, etc). I like to build all-comers lists and was curious if Daemon players tended to reserve a certain percentage of points for summoning in matched play? Second, the Multitudinous Host battalion intrigues me and I've read all the threads I can find on it. As I understand it, using the battalion bonus in matched play, as long as I'm replacing slain models in a unit I don't have to pay for them. Am I allowed to voluntarily forgo rolling to add horrors to a complete unit, or add less than what I rolled to replace casualties? If so, how many horrors should a unit have to take advantage of this without getting wiped out? I was thinking something like taking (in a 2000 point game) three 10-man pink horrors for my battleline, then possibly taking the rest of the battalion using 20-30 man blue/brimstone horrors. I have no idea if that would work well, it's just what popped into my head. Finally, a quick modeling question. I don't own any burning chariots but am planning on getting some start collecting boxes since they have so much in them. Is the disk on the chariot the same size as a standard disk of Tzeentch? I wondered if I could use a kit to convert a Herald on Disk if it's the right size (plus 3 blue horrors, plus an exalted flamer on foot, plus a couple screamers if I get creative with the cutting where they attach to the chariot). I appreciate any advice from seasoned players. I've only played a few 1000 point games, but honestly have enough to field 2500 points easily. I also used several Age of Sigmar heroes as Heralds in my 40k force (because you can take them in handfuls and I wanted visual variety) so I even have a bunch of different leaders to play around with Anyway, enjoying the game so far.
  12. Sorry if this has been asked before, I did some googling but couldn't find it. I stumbled across the balewind vortex's rules today and realized this is an incredible asset to any magic heavy army. Since its possible to summon, I would assume a player would need to pay points for it, right? Or is it treated like the wildwoods are for sylvaneth? The rules can be found here Additionally, how do you think tournaments would handle this? I can imagine a tzeentch army bunkering up, summoning 3 of these and absolutely blasting the opposing army off the table
  13. Daniel

    Summoning Heal

    I am an "old" veteran of Warhammer WFB, from the 4th edition up until the 7th. Now, I'm just starting with AoS and I have some difficulties with "letting the old rules go". So my well meant apologies if this is considered the most stupid question since the dawn of time Concerning Summoning, as I currently understand: If I have a 2000 point Death army, I have the option to have several units "in reserve", for example, a unit of 20 zombies worth 120 points. So during deployment, I'll deploy 1880 points and keep the zombie unit off of the table. Once I've cast Summon Zombies, I can place it using the normal rules (no questions there). So when that happens, I'll have my 2000 point army on the table. However, "back in the days", you could also "heal" your units with summoning spells. Is that still a thing? Targeting a friendly unit of zombies, than replenish lost models? Or are there different spells for this at all? If yes: what spell/character can do this?
  14. Hi all I've added an example of the ability as attached. So when summoning to the board...the unit is SET UP within 18" of caster. Do all models need to be within this bubble or can the small toe of one be inside it with the rest trailing off behind him and thus outside the 18" range?
  15. Howdy folks, long time player, first time poster.... I'm about to start a Path to Glory campaign this weekend using my starter box Khorne vs my buddy's Sylvaneth which means that Dryads may be summoned. I know how summoning is treated in larger games (sideboard, keeping reinforcement points back etc), but in a game with only ~6 units per side, I don't think these options would work, so how should this be handled? Using Roused to Wrath as an example, if a Branchwraith summons 2d6 dryads in a 6 unit game, this could conceivably be equivalent to almost 3 extra units which would significantly imbalance the game. Conversely, if you leave 3 units off the board at the start to summon later, half your army is missing at the start. TL/DR: how do you handle summoning in very small games. Thanks y'all, Dave P.
  16. Hi! Question about the balewind vortex rule: Does this apply to summoning? For example, can a wizard attempt to summon a unit of Skeleton Warriors within 36" om himself while standing upon the Balewind Vortex?
  17. Hi! If i for example play a Deathlord allegiance army with Nagash and two units of Morghast to fill up the battleline unit requirement. Then the rest in the summoning pool. Here's the pickle. If Nagash summons a unit of skeleton, does this unit count as a battleline unit? Do the Morghasts stop counting as battleline units if there are non-deathlord allegiance units on the table? I understand that this has no impact per-se on armybuilding, im more thinking for the situation in different scenarios if an objective can only be held by a battleline unit and so on. Thanks!
  18. Alright, I've asked around my local meta and Ive gotten no real answers: Let's say I make a 2000 point Soulblight army with 500 points reserved for summoning. Now rules as I know it now, this constitutes as a "Soulblight Army" (and when there are specific Soulblight bonuses they will apply). Now let's say I summon a unit of skeletons throughout the game, do I keep my Soulblight status? Really the question comes down to when allegiances are evaluated and chosen. What are your thoughts?!
  19. So, in the new Sylvaneth tome the Branchwraith still summons "only" 2d6 dryads. At first I thought that these were "free" summons, i.e. You don't need to pay points for them re: summoning rules. This made sense in my head as summoning 2d6 dryads isn't overly strong, and other armies (flesheaters) don't pay points when they re-summon into dead units (which is where the distinction lies) So the question is: do you pay the whole points cost for the unit of dryads, even if you're summoning, for instance, only 2? They're usually 120 pts for 10, so the possibility of having to pay 120 for 2 does not really outweigh the advantage of paying 120 for 12?
×
×
  • Create New...