Jump to content
Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

Isotop

Members
  • Content Count

    152
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Community Reputation

49 Lord Celestant

About Isotop

  • Rank
    Protector

Recent Profile Visitors

The recent visitors block is disabled and is not being shown to other users.

  1. Isotop

    AoS 2 - Sylvaneth Discussion

    *double post
  2. Isotop

    AoS 2 - Sylvaneth Discussion

    Great work! I have a question regarding 2.2, tough. In my view Treelords, Treelord Ancients and Spirits of Durthu are not excluded from using Navigate Realmroots - the simply have an alternative way of "teleporting". If this is true, you should remember to always use Navigate Realmroots instead of Spirit Paths, since the Tree-bois are not affected by a roll of 1 when using Navigate Realmroots. They simply get the added chance to roll a 6 and be able to move again (which they can not get by using Spirit Paths).
  3. Isotop

    Demon Icon Bearers and special unit members

    How is the question a "philosophical" one? You very much need to know what a Plaguebearer model is in order to correctly use the ability of the Icon Bearer. In your earlier post you claimed the Plagueridden is not a Plague Bearer and therefore can not be added to the unit via the Icon Bearer ability. Following this method, Icon Bearers and Bell Tollers can not be added as well (since they have special names just like the Plagueridden). If this method of yours holds true, you would need to have "normal Plague Drone models" in addition to your Plaguebringer, Icon Bearer and Bell Toller when bringing a unit of 3 Plague Drones (since you can only add "normal" Plague Drones" via the Icon Bearer). I hope I made clear why the question "what is a Plaguebearer model?" is an important one. The answer to it seems to come very easy and obviously for you - so I kindly aks you to enlighten me with the inclusion of an actual rules backup for your claims. Just to be clear, I do not want to offend you - I just want to find out what the answer to my rules question might be or if there is a answer supported by the rules in the first place.
  4. Isotop

    AoS 2 - Sylvaneth Discussion

    Yes, you are 100% right
  5. Isotop

    Demon Icon Bearers and special unit members

    I asked if there was an reasoning we could or could not add "special unit members" - so I am very much unbiased and open minded regarding the outcome of this discussion. I really do not understand why you would think I wanted to "game" this in a "cheeky" way. In my opinion, asking interesting rules questions (in the rules section!) should not result in the TO being mocked in such a way. At this point I ask myself the question: What exactly is a "Plaguebearer model"? There are some options we can discuss: (1) Plaguebearer model = every member of a unit called Plaguebearers (2) Plaguebearer model = every member of a unit with the keyword PLAGUEBARER (3) Plaguebearer model = every member of a unit called Plaguebearers excluding "special unit members" (because they have special names) Everybody, feel free to add more options. In my view neither of the ones stated above is supported by the core rules. The problem I am seeing is the following: There really is no name for individual models in a unit. Units have names (Plaguebearers), units have Keywords - individual models in said units do not have a generic name, they do not have Keywords as far as I can see. I have to admit I implicitly assumed that every model in a Plaguebearers unit was called a Plaguebearer. Which makes perfect sense in a narrative way, but is not supported by any rules (as far as I can see). In my view there is no proof for (2) or (3) ((3) being @Stroke´s attempt) either. I would really like to discuss the topic a bit more and hope to find out which rules I may have overlooked and even more the opinions people have on this (in my eyes very discussion-worthy) rules problem. Finally: I think that is the absolute wrong way to "deal" with people critically questioning rules with not so clear substantiation.
  6. Isotop

    AoS 2 - Sylvaneth Discussion

    Yeah, that is exactly how it works (as far as I can see). It has to be moved up to 8" or any distance between and including 0" to 8". After its movement, it causes the damage. Moving it 0" still counts as a movement, as far as I know 🔪
  7. Isotop

    AoS 2 - Sylvaneth Discussion

    Or 0", to make things simple 😅
  8. Isotop

    Soul Cage Spell Nighthaunt

    Thanks mate, this clears things up! I am not a Nighthaunt player myself and had no acess to the battletome. I just went with the wording @Baldur provided. @King Taloren: I honestly do not know what you are talking about for 80% of your post. A lot of times you do not even react to the points I came up with. Your opportunism is really starting to annoy me at a personal level. Sorry for the harsh words, but you should really look into the rules and arguments a little deeper before joining the conversation in such a hostile manner.
  9. Isotop

    Piling in rule clarifications.

    When one of your models starts its pile-in move, you check which enemy model is the closest to it and the distance between the two of them. During the pile-in move, your model is allowed to increase this distance to the enemy model, but it is not allowed to be farther away from it at the end of the pile-in move. To answer your specific question regarding base to base: Lets name your model A and the enemy models B and C. We presume your model A starts its pile-in move in base to base contact with B. Therefore the distance between A and B is 0". You are allowed to move anywhere you want during your pile-in as long as model A end the movement in base to base contact with B (since it is not allowed to be farther away than 0" from model B). As long as you meet those requirements, you are free to get into base to base contact with model C. If you do so, model A will be in base to base with B and C at the end of its pile-in. Hope I could help, feel free to ask if anything was unclear.
  10. Isotop

    Soul Cage Spell Nighthaunt

    I agree, an eligible unit must fight. I do not see how not being able to attack makes a unit not eligible. I think we can agree that every "must" includes the implicit statement "if possible". So, yes, a unit picked to fight must attack after piling in, if possible. If you disagree with this implication, feel free to dicuss. The problems I am seeing with your understanding are the following: (1) A unit that charged in the same turn is eligible to be picked for fighting (even if it is not within 3" of an enemy unit when it is picked). Would you say a unit that can not reach enemy models with their pile-in + weapon range become not eligible (because it will not be able to attack)? (2) A unit engaged with an enemy model equipped with the Dopelganger Cloak will not be eligible before the bearer of the Doppelganger Cloak attacked. Is this your intention? (3) Imagine the following scenario: There are two units in melee combat with each other (within 3" of each other). There are no other combats happening. Both units are affected by Soul Cage. What happens here?
  11. Isotop

    AoS 2 - Blades of Khorne Discussion

    Yeah, I never said you can not re-roll when rolling a 1 and the rules do not support this either. Since re-rolls are applied before modifiers and a roll of a 1 lets the roll fail before modifiers you are obviously allowed to re-roll natural 1s. Taking the rules reference in the quote above, there are two things that can happen when rolling to wound: (1) Your roll (after re-rolls and modifiers) equals or beats the To-Wound characteristic of the weapon you are attacking with. You proceed with the save roll. (2) Your roll (after re-rolls and modifiers) is below the To-Wound characteristic of the weapon. The attack sequence ends. (3) Your roll is a 1 (after re-rolls) before it gets modified. The attack sequence ends. First of all, I hope I did not deduced too much from the rules. If you think so, feel free to tell me what I did wrong. The real question here is: What does "the attack sequence ends" mean? There are two different meanings that would make sense to me: (4) Finish the step (in this case "2. Wound Roll") you are in right now but do not proceed to the next one (5) Finish instantly If (5) was true, there would be no roll to be modified and chaning the rolled 1 to another reuslt would not be possible. If (4) was true, you could indeed stop the Skullreapers from wounding themselves. I think it is pretty obvious that I was implicitly arguing for (5) to be true, but I totally see how others might think of (4) being correct. Two examples of weird results arising from (4) are the following: (6) A model with the Sword of Judgement and a +5 To-Hit buff causes mortal wounds on hit-rolls of 1 (5 Warchanters can do this in Ironjaws) (7) Same for Bloodletters Decapitating Blow (I guess 5 Slaughterpriests could do it?) In any case, something GW should look into regarding the next big FAQ.
  12. Isotop

    Soul Cage Spell Nighthaunt

    Yeah, it must attack. Not being able to attack (because of Soul Cage) does not make the unit not eligible. What I am saying is: You can pick the unit to fight - if you do so, you can pile in (Soul Cage does not stop you from doing so) but you will no be able to attack. What exactly is not clear about this? The core rules do not say a unit has to be able to attack in order to be eligible for fighting.
  13. Isotop

    AoS 2 - Blades of Khorne Discussion

    How can the "roll itself" be modified after ther attack sequence ended? I think I showed pretty clearly that a rolled 1 ends the attack sequence before modifiers take place. I would like you to support your claims with the core rules in order to have a productive discussion on the topic. @Darksteve, same for you, mate. I hope this does not sound to harsh - I really do not want offend anyone (really).
  14. Isotop

    AoS 2 - Sylvaneth Discussion

    I do not see how a Spirit of Durthu is "very swingy" with a Gyrstrike attached to him. In my opinion this combination represents one of the most reliable sources of damage in the game (reliable MW spam being better, though). I do not see how tree revenants need a new warscroll. They are a 80 points battleline filling unit that can come in very handy in certain missions. Additionally, in Household, they can punish a strung out horde unit (not saying it happens a lot, but the opponent has to take care). To be honest, I do not think that Alarielle is undercosted (at least not by a lot). Substracting the Dryads or Kurnoths she summons, she is at 400 points. I would add a little bit on top of it, since a "normally" bought and deployed unit has more freedom of movement (because of Navigate Realmroots). Her ranged attack is unreliable, her melee damage is okay, but also pretty unreliable in my opinion. She is very squishy when faced with a dedicated melee unit and it is a lot of work to screen her because of her huge base. I did not really play against ranged-heavy armies so far but I imagine her to be pretty killable there as well. 4 Ballistae + Ordinator at short range will bring her down to 4 wounds on average. The problem I am seeing is that she is the one thing being visible behind the screen of Wyldwoods (due to being a flyer). In my view her really strong parts are mobility and triple spell casting/unbinding. But all things considered, she is a jack of all trades, which is not the best thing to have in every situation. I am a newer player (have around 20 games under my belt), so take everything I say with a grain of salt. I wonder if you, @Grimbok, are a very experienced player to cast such a harsh judgement on Sylvaneth. Maybe you just did not experiment enough with alternative builds? I am about to try out what Winterleaf/Harvestboon have to offer, but until now I only played Dreadwood and found it to be a very effective build (and quite the opposite of "defensive and dryad spamming"). On my first tournament last weekend I was able to get 2nd place with the same Dreadwood - playing, amongst other things, against Idoneth Deepkin, Nurgle and Nighthaunt (winning against all three to different degrees). I realize one tournament is no proof for something being effective on a larger scale, but it shows that you can have sucess with something else than dryad spam. Finally, I really wonder why you are so salty (no offense).
  15. Isotop

    Blade of Judgement and Shooting?

    I think every weapon profile represents a different weapon, ruleswise.
×