Jump to content
Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

Isotop

Members
  • Content Count

    212
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Community Reputation

72 Celestant-Prime

About Isotop

  • Rank
    Protector

Recent Profile Visitors

The recent visitors block is disabled and is not being shown to other users.

  1. Isotop

    D6 Movement profiles & Running

    I did not think that the rolling of dice was an "ability". Because of this I called it a "rule mechanic". What exactly an "ability" is would be a great insight regarding other rules questions as well.
  2. Isotop

    Can you decrease the range of an Endless Spell?

    I think you have the right sentiment here. The FAQ you are mentioning makes it pretty clear that there is a fundamental difference between "spell range" and and an endless spell´s "setup distance". Therefore, range decreasing effects should have no influence on endless spells. I guess @King Taloren simply was not aware of the FAQ when stating his opinion. In any case, I would like to her people´s view on the topic.
  3. Isotop

    D6 Movement profiles & Running

    I think your first scenario is indeed correct. Here is the relevant information from the Core Rules: "When you pick a unit to make a normal move, you can declare that it will run. Make a run roll for the unit by rolling a dice. Add the result of the run roll to the Move characteristic of all models in the unit for that movement phase." (https://ageofsigmar.com/wp-content/uploads/sites/12/2018/06/AoS_Rules-ENG.pdf, page 4 under RUNNING) After reading this, we know that have to declare a run when you pick a unit to make a normal move. Lets see what we find about random movement values: "When a unit with a random Move characteristic is selected to move in the movement phase, roll the indicated number of dice. The total of the dice rolled is the Move characteristic for all models in the unit for the duration of that movement phase." (https://ageofsigmar.com/wp-content/uploads/sites/12/2018/06/AoS_Rules-ENG.pdf, page 13 under Random Values) Following this, a random movement characteristic is determined when you select a unit to move. It seems to happen at the same time as declaring wether the unit will run or not. Since there is nothing in the rules stopping two rule mechanics to happen at the same time, my conclusion is that you have to roll the random movement and the run roll together. Therefore, you are not allowed to run with a unit for which you allready determined its Move characterisic. I hope this explanation was helpful to you.
  4. Isotop

    FEC - Returning slain models

    I guess @Gecktron´s question is discussed in a certain thread in this forum. He is not talking about Ghoul Patrol, but about the meaning of the word "return". I guess his opponent read it and got caught up in the idea the OP of said thread proposed. I think I (and others) made a reasonable argument supporting @Gecktron´s view of the topic. Here is the thread: I hope this will help with the issue.
  5. Isotop

    measurements for scoring

    I think you are getting confused because of the term "control zone" - which you are making up. There is no "control zone" a model has to be "inside" of. When checking if a player controls an objective, you count up the number of models being 6" within the objective (in most cases - there are exceptions with 3" instead of 6). So yes, being within 0" (touching) of a circle with a radius of 6" around an objective makes a model eligible for "controlling" the objective. I think you really got caught up in a wrong explanation you initially created in your mind. But you have to look at the actual rules and the evidence I presented you in this thread, not your gut feeling or whatever you used to solve the question here. In the end, the rules are pretty clear on the topic we are discussing here. If there is any more need for explanation or evidence, feel free to ask. Firstly: Thanks for appreciating my argumentation. But what do you mean by "right to a point"? I was not talking about anything but the question wether a model can be wholly within 6" of a board edge while also being within 6" of an objective (with the objective being 12" away from the same edge). This is the only thing @Cilibeo wanted to know and I think I gave him a well explained answer to the question. I am not sure why you voted my posts down and put yourself on the oppositions side without providing a valid counter argument, but I would be glad listening to your explanation. Did we talk about another topic I am not aware of? Please let me know. While being true, how does this have any relevance for the specific question? This addition really distracts from the fact that the question was correctly answered by me and that I was voted down for (apparently) no good reason. Again, if I quoted the rules in an incorrect way or a deduction I made was defective, please show me the mistakes I made and we can discuss this topic further.
  6. Isotop

    measurements for scoring

    "Just touching" is enough to be "within". The simplest example is two models being base-to-base. They are considered to have a distance of 0" to each other. They are within 0" of each other. According to your interpretation, two models could not ever be within 0" of each other, since they are "just touching". Am I getting you wrong?
  7. Isotop

    Where There's War, There's Gold

    I think the grammar of the rule does not really support your interpretation. The problem lies in the connection between "one of your units" and "within 3"". The two of them are really fused together here, are they not? By subdividing the sentence, we get: (1) Once per battle, in your hero phase, (2) one of your units within 3" of an enemy can (3) pile in and attack as if it were the combat phase, or (4) shoot as if it were the shooting phase. Maybe we should rather write (3) and (4) as (2.1) and (2.2), since both are relying on (2) to make sense. Your argument on the other hand fuses (2) and (3) together - if I am understanding you correctly. After this, we are left with "shoot as if it were the shooting phase". The problem I am seeing here is: Who can shoot? We allready used up the "unit" part by fusing (2) and (3) together - so there is a missing reference when we try to use (4) to operate. I hope I made myself somewhat clear. I am not a native english speaker, so I might be completely off here. I would welcome any correction and discussion.
  8. Isotop

    Staff of focus

    Abolutely true! "A Wizard cannot attempt to cast more than one endless spell in the same turn (even if they are different endless spells)." (Malign Sorcery, page 53 under ENDLESS SPELL MODELS) Thank you mate, we nearly told @Alucard Hellfire something wrong. Since the Staff of Focus bonus is once per game (got confused here), it can never provide a +1 to cast for more than one endless spell.
  9. Isotop

    Can you self-ally?

    That is not how it works: "If your army is a Stormcast Eternals army, you can give it a Stormhost keyword. All STORMCAST ETERNAL units in your army gain that keyword. If a model already has a Stormhost keyword, it cannot gain another one, but this does not prevent other units in your army from having a different Stormhost keyword. [...]" (Stormcast Eternals Battletome, page 117 under STORMHOSTS) You are not "automatically forced into being Hammers" by taking named units. You can select a Stormhost Keyword for all units in your army that do not allready have one. You do not have to ally in Hammers of Sigmar characters to use them along a different Stormhost. This is not meant as an offense, but I think you should start to actually read/check the rules you are talking about in this forum.
  10. Isotop

    measurements for scoring

    That is not how it works: "Q: Sometimes a rule will specify that a model or unit needs to be ‘wholly within’ a certain distance. What exactly does ‘wholly within’ mean? A: A model is wholly within a certain distance if every part of its base is within the stated distance. A unit is wholly within a certain distance if every part of the bases of all of the models in the unit is within the stated distance. For example, a model would be wholly within 12" of the edge of the battlefield as long as every part of its base was 12" or less from the edge, while a unit would be wholly within 12" of the edge of the battlefield as long as every part of every base of the models from the unit were 12" or less from the edge." (https://whc-cdn.games-workshop.com/wp-content/uploads/2018/07/Core-Rules-and-Bases-Sizes-EN.pdf, page 3) As you can see here, you do not have to be less then x away from y to fulfill "being wholly within x of y". Being exactly x away statisfies "wholly within" just fine. Therefore, in our example, you can be exactly 6" away from the table edge. There is no "line" (as you suggested) we are not allowed to touch - instead, we are not allowed to go across it (as shown in the quote above). Touching the "line" you are talking about is well within the rules for "wholly within" and brings us within range of the Objective. If there is anything not clear about my argument or the evidence from the rules above, feel free to ask/discuss.
  11. Isotop

    Staff of focus

    Correct, the Balewind Vortex does not increase the Meteors range: "Q: Do things that increase the range of a caster’s spells also apply to the distance at which an endless spell can be set up from the caster? A: No. Things that increase the range of a spell’s effects do not apply to the distance at which an endless spell can be set up. By the same token, things that allow you to measure the range of a spell from a different location to the caster cannot be used when setting up an endless spell." Also remember that the Staff of Focus does not improve the Meteor´s damage: "Q: If a Wizard has an ability that increases the number of mortal wounds inflicted by the spells they cast, does this ability also apply to the abilities of any endless spells that the wizard casts? A: No." (https://whc-cdn.games-workshop.com/wp-content/uploads/2018/12/age_of_sigmar_malign_sorcery_designers_commmentary_en.pdf)
  12. Isotop

    Can you self-ally?

    Stormcasts are, as far as I can see, the only army being able to ally with "themselves". The can ally with any Order unit, which includes Stormcasts. Ironjaws, on the other hand, can not ally in Ironjaws. Ironjaws do not have Ironjaws (or "any Destruction unit") in their list of allies.
  13. Isotop

    measurements for scoring

    I do not really get your argument - can you explain it to me in depth? Maybe there is some confusion with the term "center of the objective". It is a little bit misleading, since the "objective" and "its center" are identical. An objective is not anything more than a single point on the battlefield. Therefore, if this point is 12" away from a table edge, you can surely get within 6" of this point while being wholly within 6" of the table edge. What exactly am I missing here?
  14. Isotop

    measurements for scoring

    The objective is 12" away from the table edge and an ambushing units deploys wholly within 6" of a table edge, right? In this case - yes, you can capture the objective. Exactly one model can make it into the "control range" of 6" around the objective. Just draw a line from the center of the objective to the table edge, hitting the edge at an angle of 90°. Put one model from the ambushing unit with the center of its base onto the line so that the model is completely (wholly) within 6" from the table edge and also within 6" of the objective´s center. I hope this is clear enough - in any other case, feel free to ask!
  15. Isotop

    Sylvaneth Wyldwoods, how many ?

    Slight correction: The initial Wyldwood has to be more than 1" away from other terrain and the Treelord Ancient´s Wyldwood has to be more than 3" away from other terrain and models. I realize you know this, just wanted it to be absolutely clear for @Backbreaker.
×