Help a beginner, stormcast paintscheme and rust effect

Attackmack

Im just starting out painting. Not for the first time "ever" but more or less for the first time with a serious intention of getting it good (or rather good ENOUGH).

Ive decided to sacrifice a unit of liberators to practice on and test out various techniques and paintschemes and the first try is with silvery armor and beige color.

Aside from struggling with keeping paint on its intended places and getting even coats ive also come to realize that the miniature feel very cluttered. I dont know if its because of the colors ive chosen or simply because im not very good at it.

I also initially wanted the armor very rusty and tattered, not even the steel of heaven can escape the indifferent passing of time! But as i applied the rust the clutter of the model became even more noticable. I might have overdone the rust a bit but it was almost as if applying less rust made the model feel more cluttered...

Im attaching a picture of the two models, the left one without rust applied, and hope there are some good tips trix and pointers as to what I could to to have the model dirty and broken down but still not looking like a lump of molten crayons (the left model is not as cluttered but feel to sterile and "clean" for the kind of thing im hoping to achieve).

edit:

Excuse the bad quality of the picture, neither do I own a good camera or the skills to use it :/

gKAB6AV.jpg

If you wanna learn to paint Id say watch the GW vids on tube, warhammertv.

There are tons of tips and tricks on every longer vid that even someone like me, who has painted for like 17 years, pics up some new things from most of the videos.

What kind of rust are you looking for? Like the kinda orange rust with some shinier metla showing trough a little or more like something dark and stained with perhaps some verdigris etc?

Ive been looking through some of them, mostely those dealing with the various colors im using.