Picking an army to suit playstyle

Will

Hi!

I'm a bit of a vet of 40k and to some extent WHFB, looking to get into AoS with a new army. I've fallen foul recently of painting up an army (for 40k) which didn't really suit my usual playstyle, very static, very durable, but kind of dull. My own fault really for perhaps not proxying it beforehand.

With regards to AoS, i'd like to play a fast, aggressive army. The kind of army you'd describe as having good alpha strike. Can be cavalry heavy, but it doesn't have to be. I don't mind if its a bit of a glass hammer either, the faster and punchier the better. Pretty basic requirements :D

Any recommendations would be greatly appreciated. But also, if you'd like to expand to the general playstyles of other factions too, that would be pretty cool. I'm sure there are plenty of newbies in the same boat as me.

Sorry if this info already exists elsewhere!

Thanks for reading!

There are many factions that can fit this style of army to be honest. Almost to the point that ANY faction can be designed with alpha strike in mind.

Destruction armies do particularly well as they have good movement bonuses so can get first turn charges pretty easily.

Stormcast Eternals can alpha strike by using deployment tricks. Bloodbound and Brayherds also have some speedy movement.

1 hour ago, Will said:

a fast, aggressive army.

1 hour ago, Will said:

Can be cavalry heavy, but it doesn't have to be

1 hour ago, Will said:

I don't mind if its a bit of a glass hammer

1 hour ago, Will said:

the faster and punchier the better