New army analysis?

I'm somewhat new to AoS and I'm currently painting a Skaven army. I'm enjoying playing them, but handling the army physically is kind of a chore on the table and it's going to take a while to get done.

I'm thinking about picking up something with few models but I don't know the rest of the game.

What armies are..

Cheap, mid-low model count, somewhat competitive and also fun?

FEC is the obvious choice, but people don't seem to like them.

Ideas? What would you put in your suggested army?

Beastclaw Raiders are super cheap to hit 2k points with (3 start collecting kits will do it I think) and typically don't have more than around 20 models in an army.  Plus, they might be included in the new Ogor book that is presumably coming out in the next few months (it's still up in the air if that will be both ogor factions or just Gutbusters, though both seems likely), so you could be getting a fresh set of rules with them soon.  

FEC aren't really what I would consider to be low model count since running lots of ghouls isn't totally uncommon.  That said, they CAN be low model count.  In one of their sub-factions, the big monsters can be battleline, and if you select the right general then your heavy troops (flayers and horrors) can be battleline as well.

There are a lot of armies out there that CAN be low model count if you select the units to do that, but I'm not sure if they'll all be competitive in that form.  (For example, Blight King based nurgle with big monsters and heroes wouldn't have to be more than 40 or so models).

I agree that it depends a lot on your build. Because Ironjawz can be quite low model count as well for example. 

But most armies suffer a bit if you go very low model count. Then again, depending on who your playing and the experience everyone has that might not be a big issue. 

What factions and models do you like the look of?  

Maybe that way somebody can jump in and advice or an elite list in that faction has merit. :)