Help please for a complete noob (AoS Ironjawz) !

Chillpill

Hi all,

I think  (!) I have decided on the AoS Army I would like to start with and it is Ironjawz. There is just something about them that I really like.

Having said that, I am REAAAAALLY digging the bright yellow paint scheme I have seen on pictures. I know there is a "How to paint Ironjawz" booklet you can order but that, from what I have seen focuses on a more orange type of colour scheme.

I was wondering if anyone here could tell me which colours I would need for the Ironjawz? Is there a list somewhere including washes etc?

Beware, if you are as new to painting these figures as you allude to, yellow is one of the harder paints to work with. Touchups are hard, and can be very discoureging after you put down hours and hours of work and something gets on the yellow. Take it slow when you paint and be careful around the yellow, especially with darker paints.

Are you after all of the colours of just the yellow?

The 'how to paint Ironjawz' booklet has orange(ish) looking Orruks on the front but inside they are yellow.

For the yellow they suggest:

Undercoat White

Base Yriel Yellow

Wash Seraphim Sepia

If Drybrush: Tyrant Skull

If Layer: Yriel Yellow (Again)/Screaming Skull

However, I personally don't like the final look. There isn't a lot of definition.

Funnily enough, it's here: https://www.warhammer-community.com/2016/10/30/paint-splatter-orruk-brutes-and-gore-gruntas/

Yea I currently have no paints at all so was going to look for a list of all the paints. I found this video as well:

I know it is the Megaboss she is painting but I guess I could use that for the regular troops too?

I will probably be hugely disappointed with my own end results but hey....