Thoughts on new Amry for New Player

Fisdantilus

So I am new to AOS ([previously played Brets and Dwarves in Fantasy) and am starting an Iron Jawz army.  Listening to a couple podcasts and such, it seems mixed arms are strong in this game and you need hard hitting infantry/calvary (check), buffs (check), some fast units for claiming objectives (??) and shooting (???) .  I was thinking of maybe adding some goblin wolf riders and maybe chariots or artillery and a mangler squig to the what the iron jawz bring.

I don't want to buy and paint a bunch of models only to find out they really aren't any good.  For those who have played, does this seem viable?  Would this be a good jumping on point or do I need to think about other things to add?

Thanks in advance for any advice.

Some of it depends on what/how you are going to play.  Some rules need #models to claim objectives, others need #wounds, etc.

A good complement to Ironjawz might be Spiderfang.  Get some Forest Goblin Spider Riders, and an Arachnarok or two.  You can VERY easily build a Rock Lobber out of the howdah for the Arachnarok (you basically build it according to the instructions, but put in on a base rather than on the spider), and use some of the crew for the Lobber and put the rest on the base of the Arachnarok along with the shrine/shaman.

I'd recommend getting the grand alliance book of the faction you want to play most.  with a blank sheet of paper go through and pick out all the units you think are:

1. Cool

2. Effective

3. Obviously have synergies. 

I did this with the order book and can see myself running an army with:

Stormcast teleport banner guy & unit to be teleported

Medusa - all the Mortal wounds

Sisters of Slaughter, Sisters of the Thorn and Wizards to buff their saves (DE sorc and Empire Shadow wizards were my favoured options), you hit me and you do mortal wounds to yourself, yes please!

Executioners - Mortal wounds on 6's = yummy