Brushes

SlyRebirth

I'm relatively new to more 'advanced' painting (or, let's say "post-Duncan"), and I'm looking at different ways to improve techniques, kit, etc.

I've been trying out a few brushes, but don't have much experience, so I thought I'd seek some guidance. I do know how to look after brushes (cleaning, shaping, not letting paint get up inside, etc), so these comments are with that in mind.

So far I've basically got one of every type of brush from GW, and I'll be honest, with mixed results. The XS and S Artificers seem good, but the M one started splitting very quickly. Most disappointing, however, was the M Base - I had three of them, and they all started curling at the ends within a few days. It was as if I'd left them standing in water on end (which of course I hadn't). So I was pretty disappointed.

For base coats I've gone back to using my old Large Brush and Basecoat Brush, they're pretty hardy.

GW Dry Brushes seem good enough. The L Base brush has also been reliable in the past few months.

For general mixed work (fine detail through to general accuracy) my favourite is still a year-old Element Games Character 0 brush.

I'd be really interested to know what people's 'best' brushes are, along with where to get them and rough costs. I don't mind spending a bit of money (I hear the name Windsor & Newton, but are they really that good?), so recommendations very welcome.

Thanks in advance!