PrimeElectrid Posted July 14, 2021 Share Posted July 14, 2021 (edited) Surely I’m not the first one to realise this but I can’t see anything in the matched play rules that enable the allegiance abilities written on the cards in Dominion. 1) GHB21 lays out the publications which are legal: neither Dominion nor the cards contained in it are listed (unlike the Stormcast allegiance abilities which are legal as BR Morathi is included). 2) There is no FAQ (so far) to say that the battletome allegiance abilities have been replaced/amended with the versions in the box. 3) Allegiance Abilities are not pitched battle profiles as defined in Core Rules section 25. There is not an entry for allegiance abilities in this section. 4) Core Rules Section 27 states allegiance abilities are included in battletomes. The cards are not in the battletomes and have not been FAQed otherwise. This applies to Kruleboyz specifically, as they have no battletome, and Venom Encrusted Weapons is not in the Warclans Battletome, and so cannot be used. In addition, there is no Kruleboyz faction to pick. 5) You can use Dominion units, as these are listed in the GHB21 specifically. Consequences for matched play: * Stormcast cannot use Blaze of Glory * Stormcast must use the Battletome version of Scions of the Storm (meaning they get -1 to hit when set up with this ability) * Kruleboyz cannot get Venom Encrusted Weapons (no MWs for 6s for anyone using these units). * The Swampcalla Shaman Poisons and Elixirs ability does not work fully in matched play. The poison options applies when Venom Encrusted Weapons is triggered, which does not apply as it is not legal, so nothing to trigger off. No mortals on 5s (because no mortals at all). This is probably more relevant to anyone taking Stormcast to an event in the next few weeks but applies to both. Don’t shoot the messenger, usual caveats about ask the TO/opponent, wait for the Dominion FAQ etc etc. Edited July 14, 2021 by PrimeElectrid Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Join the conversation
You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.