Jump to content

Question

6 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 3
1 hour ago, Aelfric said:

You have to fight and therefore pile in - but how far you pile in is up to you.  So you could just pile in 0.1 mm if you wanted to avoid getting closer to the enemy.

They do not have to move at all, they only have to end their move at least the same distance to the closest enemy model they started.

But in the end. If something is in weapon range, it has to attack.

Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

You have to fight and therefore pile in - but how far you pile in is up to you.  So you could just pile in 0.1 mm if you wanted to avoid getting closer to the enemy.

Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
On 4/4/2021 at 8:37 AM, Tizianolol said:

Ah ok , so at the end i can decide to dont move during piling in but if im in weapon  range i have to fight. Is that correct?:)

That s correct

Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

You must activate and fight if eligible.

 

The core rules are a bit murky on piling in being mandatory as part of fighting. The combat phase portion states that an eligible unit (one within 3" of an enemy) must be selected to pile in and fight during the combat phase.

 

However,  the piling in portion of text uses wording that makes it seem to be optional (lots of use of "...a unit CAN make a pile in move...") key word being the can which makes it sound optional. Due to this most players I know play as if  the pile in portion of the text is optional.

 

As @Aelfric has stated a way to meet all the criteria set out by the rules is that you can always move the unit 0.1mm (or less, even a molecule closer counts technically) as long as they end closer to the closest enemy than before. If their weapons are in range they MUST strike. 

 

 

 

Edited by TheCovenLord
  • Like 1
Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
15 hours ago, TheCovenLord said:

As @Aelfric has stated a way to meet all the criteria set out by the rules is that you can always move the unit 0.1mm (or less, even a molecule closer counts technically) as long as they end closer to the closest enemy than before. If their weapons are in range they MUST strike. 

This is an old wording that doesn't exist in 2.0 anymore.

The 2.0 rules say:

Quote

Each model must finish is't pile in move at least as close to the nearest enemy model as it was at the start of the move.

So a move of 0" is legit because you don't end up further away from the model + there are even situations where you can't pile in (because their could be 2 models with the same distance in different directions.

ACtC-3euY91cJNVjd20CPo-wxitqolpwqSanpJZM

Quote

Q: When one of my models piles in, if it is equally close to two different enemy models, do I have to finish the move as close or closer to each of those models? For example, if my model is in base contact with two enemy models, does it have to finish a pile-in move in base contact with both those models?

A: Yes to both questions – if this is impossible the model cannot move.

This or rules that a unit isn't able to pile in would be impossible if you would have to end closer.

  • Like 1
Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

×
×
  • Create New...