Beginner questions regarding painting and schemes

Trayanee

Hello and thanks a lot in advance for your advice. Lets start with the important fact. I am a terrible artist, I have always been and while I can somewhat limit that by trying harder, Its never going to change. I cant draw, paint and even have a hard time glueing without making mess everywhere on the model and around. But I still always liked miniatures and decided to get into AOS two months ago. So now I am in a state where I have studied materials, watched videos and obtained most of the necessary tools like clippers, proper glue, brushes and also some miniatures in the form of SCE Vanguard Hunters, Raptors and Palladors, which I chose because they looked cool - on pictures and built and painted by other people, of couse :). So to my questions:

1) The vanguard sprues are a little intimidating with all the small parts and many details. Should I get some easy to build Liberators to practice before moving to these more complex models? I dont want to put my vanguards to waste by glueing and painting them wrong.

2) I am not sure about SCE paint theme. Is there a difference in difficulty of painting? I like celestial vindicators and astral templars, but I also have a feeling that for example lions of sigmar would look much better when painted by beginner just because less complexity and the natural ability of gold colour to look good. What would you recommend?

3) Is there an easy way to make celestial vindicators blue armour look metallic should I choose them? Most pictures I have seen are well highlighted and everything but the armour doesnt resemble any material used in armor creation.