Returning player seeks advice for dwarfs

apologist

I'm looking to take my dwarfs back onto the front line, but there's a lot to take in about how the setting work! I always like to build some background material to help get me into the spirit of the game, and wondered if the TGA community could offer some thoughts and opinions to help me refine the broad ideas I'm outlining below, to help fit them into the brave new world of the Realms.

I (and my gaming group) have ummed and erred about getting into Age of Sigmar proper, and the new Cities of Sigmar offers me a way in. I hope you can give me some ideas on how best to field my forces. Thanks!

Overview

First off, I have very little experience of playing Age of Sigmar beyond one or two small introductory games, which I enjoyed. However, I've been playing for a while and am part of a gaming group that's fairly liberal in terms of rules – we're quite happy to play with counts-as or make up our own rules. However, I'd like to minimise the amount of that that I need to do, as it'd be good to understand how the game works more generally, in case I end up getting a game in against someone new.

While I liked the characterisation of the dawi of the Old World a great deal, I don't feel I want to recreate that. AoS seems to offer some more creative space to play with and personalise my dwarf force. Neither the Fyreslayers nor Overlords really grabbed me – they both have great touches, but the core appeal of the dwarfs to me is the pseudo-Norse feel.

For that reason, I'd like to avoid blackpowder weaponry; instead looking for crossbows, catapults etc. While I'm open to magical stuff – this is a fantasy game, after all – I'd like the focus to be relatively 'low fantasy', so that magic items and events really stand out. 

At the core of the army, I'd like to use my existing models, which are mainly the modern plastics. 

6.jpg

j.jpg

Specific questions