Wardens of the Dusklight

Wardens of the Dusklight:
a Stormcast Eternal painting/modelling log

Boring backstory
I've been playing Warhammer for about 4 years. Needed motivation to do something artistic. I started with Vampire Counts (my one true love).
Well, I should admit I started with a very large force of 40k Necrons (that will now sit in a box in my closet forever).
I was heavily into 8th ed. Eventually I branched out to Wood Elves for an alternate play style, and then to Skaven. 
Really enjoyed Undead and Skaven during the End Times, and picked up some Tomb Kings. 

I prefer to make really detailed unique models. The painting mostly gives me anxiety that I'm going to ruin all my hard conversion work and make the model look like ******. It's been a long road, bur finally I have confidence in my painting, and am really starting to dread building/converting -  I just want to get to the painting.

In the anticipation for '9th edition' and the non stop rumors of round bases, I started a Nurgle/Slaanesh Deamon army. Some really cool stuff, but most of which still remains unpainted. When the bomb that is AoS dropped, I jumped on the bandwagon and picked up the Stormcast half of the new box for cheap.  

Early Prototypes
IMG_1788.JPG
A lot of failed ideas. Verdigris wasn't looking quite right. Started feeling an Egyptian theme, though gold just seemed too boring.

IMG_1820.JPG
Decided to go with a silver theme, but found the entire range of GW silvers way too dull.
Here I pushed mixing with white to the limit to get a bright look.
Eventually I got Vallejo Silver which was much more what I was looking for.

IMG_1859.JPG
I'm big into customizing and kit-bashing .. Stormcast are heavily static and don't leave much in the way of customization.
This Castellant was customized the best I could, more of an in-your-face lantern look.
Decided to commit to heavily rocky cork bases.

IMG_2001.JPG