Jump to content
Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
Sign in to follow this  
Zayneth

Question about Allies and Roles

Recommended Posts

As the title suggests, I have a few questions about the allies section as it is extremely vague in GHB2017. 

Do allied battleline troops count towards your minimum?

Ex: clan rats allied into a Clan Skyre allegiance.

Can Allied Leaders be your general and/or use artifacts?

Ex: Grey Seer allied into a Clan Pestilens as the general to use his command ability, and use an artifact.

 

Reading through the section it doesn't say one way or another, though RAW it would appear that the answer to both of those would be yes because the allies rule merely states that you get XXX amount of points of friendly wiggle room when building your list and nothing more. any input will be greatly appreciated. I've had a hard time finding any solid information on this topic

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
19 minutes ago, Rob Hawkins said:

Nope to all of that.  It's spelled out pretty clearly under "Allies" on page 76.

I cant believe I missed a whole 2 pages of rules....thank you for your patience lol

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Just to double check, allies can take artifacts right? Azyr wasnt letting me

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
17 hours ago, Nico said:

No they cannot take Artefacts.

Was that in the FAQ or did i miss it in the rules?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
3 hours ago, Gotrek said:

Was that in the FAQ or did i miss it in the rules?

Battletome armies can't because keywords. Can't find the GHB allegiances restriction but it's somewhere.

  • Thanks 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

There's an FAQ answer in the original GHB FAQ on this - in relation to Sylvaneth as I recall - no Prayers, Artefacts or Traits - Battle Traits don't work on them etc..

  • Thanks 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Just a question. If a unit from another friction is in one of the battalion, like Aetherstrike Force of KO includes SE units like Knight -Venator.  I think they are not counted as allies?

In this case, can this Knight Venator become general of this KO army? 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
10 minutes ago, Aeonotakist said:

Just a question. If a unit from another friction is in one of the battalion, like Aetherstrike Force of KO includes SE units like Knight -Venator.  I think they are not counted as allies?

In this case, can this Knight Venator become general of this KO army? 

Ha, I guess so.

although I’m not sure if you’ll be gaining anything from it since, he will be basically unable to take any commandtraits

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

What happens if your general dies, and the best pick to take command is an allied unit?

I once had a situation where a Darkling Sorceress had to take command of a Daughters of Khaine army, since she was the only hero left. At the time we had no idea whether it was allowed, but I was losing so badly that we didn't worry too much...

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...