New to Death

WightPrince

Hey there guys,

I am new to Age of Sigmar, and wargaming in general. The Death alliance is the one that currently has my interest the most. However, I do have a couple of questions. If I were to start into Death, what should I buy? Should I buy the Start Collecting sets? Or should I buy a couple of boxes of units and go from there? 

On another hand of the hobby, painting makes me really nervous. Can you guys give me a run down of painting undead and painting miniatures in general? Are there certain paints that I should keep a good stock of? What is the process of painting?

Thank you to everyone in advance!

Welcome to the undead side of things!

Starting Death, you really can't go wrong with either Start Collecting sets. They're great value, and have a solid selection of models. I'd get at least 20 skeletons  just to give your army a nice core. If you can find any of the old battallions, they're all solid value (but you might want new bases). I recommend buying the Grand Alliance: Death book as well. It gives you an overview of the entire range (as it stands), as well as some tasty fluff.

Once you've got a foot in the door, the secret is simple. Pick the models you like. Do you like the idea of hordes of skeletons? Pick up some more, a necromancer and a Wight King. Like the Flesh Eaters, get some Ghouls and a Terrorgheist. Love the Nighhaunt? Pick up another Get Started collection and a Banshee. It really is that simple. AoS lets you build whatever sort of army you want.

If you want painting tips, I highly recommend the Warhammer TV guides. It's all on youtube, and very, very good. Especially check out the video on Nagash. It's long, but has all the tips on flesh, bones, spirits and everything else an undead army  could need.