New to FEC, stressing about summoning...

MiniJunkie

Hi folks,

picked up the start collecting box and a box of horrors to get a start on FEC. I'm new to the game and just figuring out the summoning rules...I find them unappealing tbh. I guess I'm just more of a paint and deploy everything at once kind of player. Did I choose poorly? Can I play FEC effectively (matched play) if I avoid summoning? Does the summoning restriction include when you are adding ghouls back to a unit that died previously?

I never use a reinforcement pool with my FEC, just send in the swarm. Returning ghoul models with the ghoul patrol/courtier abilities do not use summoning points, free as long as you are just returning dead models to a unit and not increasing a unit above its starting size.

On 10/27/2016 at 4:42 AM, MiniJunkie said:

Can I play FEC effectively (matched play) if I avoid summoning? Does the summoning restriction include when you are adding ghouls back to a unit that died previously?

Yes you can play them effectively without summoning. The ghoul patrol is extremely powerful at 1000 points.

The summoning restriction does not apply when you're replacing casualties. This means that Ghoul patrol is awesome because your units can be reduced to 1 or 2 mans and still recover to hold objectives.

One of the important things that I would recommend to you is the maneuverability that summoning gives you. Being able to bring courtiers or units (ghoul patrol) on from different table quarters will help capturing objectives by weight of numbers.

17 minutes ago, james.speller said:

One of the important things that I would recommend to you is the maneuverability that summoning gives you. Being able to bring courtiers or units (ghoul patrol) on from different table quarters will help capturing objectives by weight of numbers.

Bingo.