Poll: Balance vs Gameplay

What do u think is most important?  

32 members have voted

1. 1. Pick one

• Balance
    • Gameplay

Hi all i want to talk about something thats been bothering me for a while. With every edition since i started playing GW games, rules have been getting easier, streamlined, watered down or balanced whatever u want to call it. Has it actually been good for the gameplay in the end? Im starting to have my doubts. I used to like my bonesplitterz better when i had more thematic artifacts/spells and dump them all on a random hero i liked, it wasnt the best, but it was flavourfull. In 40k i loved the different armour values on tanks. It was really fun when u shoot a tank from the front or rear. I miss pie plates and flamers. I miss shooting bouncy canonballs though ranks of skeletons that in turn get ressed with by a bunch of necromancers. Yes it was a balance nightmare but my immersion in the game was at its best with those kind of rules. I do like what endless spells tried to do, it added a nice element to the table. Do we think 4th edition is bringing this back or keep watering down? What u all think about the state of AoS at the moment? Do u prefer balance or gameplay?

(Sorry my english is really bad today)

Edit: also want to add that i prefer more extreme statlines to represent models better. Give those chaos warriors a bunch of armour, thats what they look like. And bring back some kind of speed stat, bring back things like fear and frenzy. I hated stupidity with a passion but it i am still talking about those moments.

Edited by Gitzdee

I honestly can't pick one or the other as I think both are equally as important. 

That fine middle ground is what I'm aiming for. 

A little bit off topic but I wonder if tabletop games designers start using AI to balance a game instead of art production could we get to this perfect middle?

• Like 1

36 minutes ago, Vasshpit said: