Stripping minis for the first time

Gitzdee

Hi all. I want to strip some paint of some minis but i have never done this before. All topics i can find that relate to this are like 5 years old so i can imagine that maybe some new products are being used nowadays. So what product should i use to donthis with plastic minis and what are the things that i must be aware of before i ruin my minis? Thanks.

Edited by Iksdee

• Subscriber
21 hours ago, Iksdee said:

Hi all. I want to strip some paint of some minis but i have never done this before. All topics i can find that relate to this are like 5 years old so i can imagine that maybe some new products are being used nowadays. So what product should i use to donthis with plastic minis and what are the things that i must be aware of before i ruin my minis? Thanks.

Hey,

The different products available will vary depending where in the world you are. It will also depend on which minis you are stripping. 

If it's plastic or resin, then my current go to, in the UK, is BioStrip (https://fuze-products.co.uk/product/biostrip-20-paint-stripper/). Should be safe and not soften or damage the plastic or resin. 

For tips, don't leave the stripper on longer than is needed, 30 mins should be fine, then scrub with an old toothbrush. If it's really thick paint, then it may need a second go. 

Once stripped, scrub with some washing up liquid and warm water to get rid of any of the stripper that's left in hard to reach places.

You will also find that the initial undercoat may have stained the plastic, but shouldn't be an issue as once undercoated again you don't notice it. 

I had previously used Dettol but it does smell quite strong and is messy. Specifically it's the ingredients Chloroxylenol and Pine Oil that work, so some cheaper "own brand" versions that look like Dettol don't work. 

I left a FW resin piece in it once for too long, a few days, and it had turned the resin to an almost rubber texture.