Necromancers?

Reughor

Hi all, I’m very new to AoS. I’m currently assembling Soul Wars, but I can’t help looking ahead to what I’d like to field eventually.

Are Necromancers  considered strong units? What type of lists/battalions would be best for them and would those lists/battalions be considered strong? I was looking at the Lords of Sacrament, would that be a good choice? Thank you.

Necromancy is in an odd spot right now.

Legions of Nagash basically had most of the models of the range squished into one single force, with Flesheaters on the side. Steadily its been spreading out with new updates. We've had Nighthaunt take the ghosts and make their own army; Ossiarchs took reformed bone and souls; we've got Vampires coming out later this year* and will likely splinter off (and update models) for a bunch of vampire models.

We don't yet know if necromancers, skeletons and zombies are going to potentially do the same or if they are going to remain part of the Legions of Nagash only or if they are going to be taken into part of the Vampire force. 

There is also Warhammer Quest which might well add some new necromancer ideas and models into the range so if you've a fondness for them keep an eye out - though be aware whilst GW stocks Warhammer quest well during its core run, they are limited products and it has a finite life cycle which, once over, might mean sculpts vanish forever.  

Right now though you're looking only at the Legions of Nagash to run the army, what might happen in the future is impossible to say (ossiarchs, for example, were a big surprise no one was expecting).

*an Underworld warband has been revealed; there's Warhammer Quest which has a big focus on the undead and there's a new Vampire army hinted at strongly, but so far only 1 model has been seen and there's no date so we are looking at least 4 months off before any news at best

4 hours ago, Reughor said:

Are Necromancers  considered strong units?