Basing the Mortal realms

pseudonyme

Dear fellow plastic crack addicts,

With the upcoming new edition of AoS and the incentive of choosing a realm for your armies, I wondered how would every realm bases could look like.

The goal of this topic is to gather examples of bases representing each Mortal realms as, for example, I did not find many examples for Chamon and Hysh. I thought a topic on the subject might be a good idea. I will try to update with your suggestions and my random findings.

My personal interest today on that topic is  my Tzeentch demon army, which I don’t have a clue how to base them. I must confess that I am relatively new to miniature painting (2 years) and that I am yet learning to base them (I do almost the minimum job on my Legion of Nagash army).

The Mortal realms providing artefacts and spells:

• Realm of Aqshy / Realm of Fire
  • Realm of Chamon /  Realm of Metal
  • Realm of Ghur /  Realm of Beasts
  • Realm of Ghyran / Jade kingdom / Realm of Life
  • Realm of Hysh /  Realm of Light
  • Realm of Shyish / Amethyst Realm /  Realm of Death
  • Realm of Ulgu / Realm of Shadows

• 2 weeks later...

I saw someone do a base for Chamon using the shattered dominion bases and painting the raised bits like mud or copper and the streams as silver. I'm considering remaking my tzeentch arcanites for chamon so will probably have a bit of a play around.

I'd love to see how people are approaching Hysh and Ulgu more than others - the others seem to be quite straight forward.

My army, I guess, comes from Ulgu. As a result, I imagine it to be cold and I have snowy bases - though not totally covered. I picked up some red tufts of grass as some colour contrast for the bases, but I'm not keen. Instead, I'll use the marshy, darker grasses and probably dry brush little bits with purple or grey or something.