Getting demoralized from painting

The Door Master

So I've been working on converting some model for some time, was extremely happy  with how they turned out. But when I started painting I just made so many mistakes from clogged details, muddy colours , and just all around bad painting that it almost completely ruined all the work I put into it. The only thing I could do is strip and repaint them. What should I do when completely demoralized like this and how can I stop making mistakes like this.

Painting takes practice and patience. It largely depends on what causes these mistakes really. When I first started painting I would barely let a paint dry before moving on to the next one. Which would result in muddy colours. Thinning your paints and using a palette helps with not clogging details. Multiple thin coats is better than one thick one. Take care of your brushes and be sure not to cross contaminate colours.

look at online tutorials as well they are often very helpful

Honestly the one thing I find most helpful is don't force it. If you feel frustrated or like painting is a slog then take a break. Come back refreshed.

Im not a massively experienced painter so hopefully someone more learned than I can be more insightful. Hope that helped! 

Bad news I'm afraid. Painting is a skill that takes time to learn. A long time. So you will make mistakes, and continue to make mistakes for a long time. The only solution is to learn from those mistakes and practise. It sounds boring I know and you maybe were looking for some kind of magic bullet, but there isn't one. You cannot just pick up a guitar and play like Jimi Hendrix - painting is the same thing.

Get help from local painters if you can, or watch youtube videos, or the very good GW TV stuff.