Give me your guidence: Order archery / artillery

Kimbo

Hi all! 

Im new to age of sigmar and i got a stormcast army.

I want to add some good range units to my force. My question is:

- What is the top range units for order? (It can be archers or artilley from any order subfaction) 

-im looking for competitive like units because i want to join that scene when ive played for awhile! ?

Keep in mind my main force is stormcast! 

// new and confused player!

Depends on your playing style and opponents. I take a combination of Free Guild Crossbowmen, Handgunners, and Archers. Each has a role and benefit. 

My personal favourite is crossbowmen due to the double shot ability if they don't move. Handgunners are great for high armour units. I've found a new appreciation to Archers for mobility and seize objectives early 

A couple of the best order shooting attacks aren't really infantry or artillery, both the Celestial Hurricanum and the Bastiladon have very strong shooting attacks. Just below them I'd place Judicators, Kurnouth Hunters, The Luminark. 

Other shooting options tend to need more thought/buffs/models. But the above work pretty well regardless.

A couple of the best order shooting attacks aren't really infantry or artillery, both the Celestial Hurricanum and the Bastiladon have very strong shooting attacks. Just below them I'd place Judicators, Kurnouth Hunters, The Luminark. 

Exactly.

I avoid ones with Crew as a rule. The Screaming Skull Catapult being an occasional exception.

My favorite is the Knight-Venator paired with the Loremaster.  Cast the Loremasters spell on the Knight-Venator and the knight can re-roll all failed hit and wound rolls.  30" range, 6 missile attacks during shooting phase and turns his one shot star fated arrow into an almost guaranteed hit

Its nice but a lot of points and relies on a casting roll.