Simple/Fast-playing Factions/Lists?

Does anyone have tips for fast-playing (simple) factions or lists, say at 2,000 points?

Our group is having a hard time finishing games in under four hours, even playing with 1500 points.  We're experienced gamers but newly back to warhammer after a long time.  We tried low model and unit count, but not sure it helps much.

Minimizing synergies is probably a good way to go.  Any broad suggestions for factions or list types with minimal synergies?

Thanks!

I'm really new to the game and I haven't experienced anything like 4 hours at 1500 points unless the players were doing lots of pausing to talk, watching videoes on phones/tablets, doing social media stuff and anything else other than playing the game.

I'm not convinced that adding 500 more points but with models you are not familiar with will speed things up.  Even if they are ostensibly "faster" lists.

Everyone should make a list of all their model abilities in each phase to have as a handy reference.  Hero Phase:  This prayer, that spell, this leadership ability, this healing, etc.,. Movement: This unit gets extra move if it runs.  That unit will get a bonus in combat later if it stays within 9" of this other thing.  You get the idea.

Go down in points, not up.  500 or a 1000.  Maybe with a timer.  Say 45 minutes per 500 points?  If people get distracted and do stuff other than playing, point it out.  

1 hour ago, Nin Win said:

Everyone should make a list of all their model abilities in each phase to have as a handy reference.  Hero Phase:  This prayer, that spell, this leadership ability, this healing, etc.,. Movement: This unit gets extra move if it runs.  That unit will get a bonus in combat later if it stays within 9" of this other thing.  You get the idea.

Great idea!  It would be great if army list builders (Azyr maybe) could do this.

On 5/5/2017 at 5:12 AM, The Jabber Tzeentch said:

Check my blog post for some tips: