Realm of Battle Board (old version)

Sombremine

Hi everyone,

I purchased not a month ago, the Realm of Battle board old version. I am planning to paint it and I am looking for some advice and tips on how to paint it. 

I have seen the regular tuto on Youtube but I might want to try to make it more "Age of Sigmar". 

I am playing Duardin and Aelves but I do love my little beardy men... Soo I was thinking about Chamon or Ghur... any idea on how to proceed ? I am not a very good painter and I am not good at all about picking color that matches :S 

Thanks for your input anyway

Not sure what tutorials you've watched but the ones on "WarhammerTV" recently are really good and tell you exactly what colours you need for quite a range of different board styles.  As for making it more AoSy (yes that's a made up abbreviated word) I'd not worry too much.  Paint the boards up in a certain theme and then use scenery to make your battlefield fit into the realm you wish to play in.

I've got the original RoB boards too and in the process of making doing then grey to match the bases of my Bloodbound.  Skull pits will be painted bone (with necessary blood effect) and I may add in some glowing lava effects round the edge of the cracks.  This will mean that the boards will look like a fairly generic ashy battlefield.  With a red and brass fortress you're fighting in Aqshy but with a Garden of Morr you're transported to the realm of Shyish - in fact some totems and warped trees would put you into Ghur.  This also has the added benefit that I can comfortably play a different game system without it looking naff.

If you're talking about the old RoB board with hills, I recently assembled one myself. I've got a few tips both from my own experience and gathered from around the interwebs: