Jump to content
Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
  • 0
Sign in to follow this  
Fluttershy

ARTEFACTS OF POWER: RELICS OF CHAMON

Question

Hydroxskin Cloak: The enchanted barbed skin
of a hydrox allows its wearer to soar through the
air, slashing down at the foe all the while.
The bearer can fly. After the bearer has moved,
you can pick a unit that has models that the
bearer has passed across and roll a dice. On a
3+ that unit suffers D3 mortal wounds.

- does this effect all moves? normal move, charge move and pile-in moves?.. 1f632.png

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

9 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 1

Yes, the language seems to be "normal move" when they mean a keyword move during the movement phase.

Edited by heywoah_twitch

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 1
7 hours ago, heywoah_twitch said:

Yes, the language seems to be "normal move" when they mean a keyword move during the movement phase.

If it would be handled only in the movementphase they would have written "in the movement phase" (when we look at Eternal Guard "Fortress of Boughs" the unit can't move and this counts even for Pile In.

I think the point is, that in case of charge or pile in it's less likely, that the model will fly over enemy units (and using the mortal wounds bei flying over will make him an easier target).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 1

why? u might "land" on the same position, as you started your pile-in move. u might be able to move 1/2" inch across the enemy unit/model and move 1/2" back. no placing problem, 3+ D3 mortal wounds - profit.

if u pass 2 or more units you're allowed to pick only 1 unit and roll a dice, right?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 1

To this question here. I realized that there was actually a an Errata on the Cloak on July 23, 2018.

Quote

Change the rules text to:

"The bearer can fly. After the bearer has made a normal move, you can pick 1 unit that has any models that the bearer has passes across and roll a dice. On a 3+ that unit suffers D3 mortal wounds."

So, after the change, the cloak does only make damage with the normal move and only one unit takes damage.

Edited by EMMachine

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

makes this artefact sound pretty insane.

you're able to pass the enemy model with ease in normal, charge or pile-in moves and the FAQ states:

Q: Some abilities require a model that can fly to ‘pass across’ a model from an enemy unit. How exactly does this work? A: In order for a model to pass across another, part of the moving model’s base must have moved across any part of the other model’s base. To determine if this is the case, trace the flying model’s move across the battlefield, checking to see if its base passed across any part of the other model’s base at any point in its move. Note that this means that the flying model can move up to an enemy model so that their bases overlap, and then move back, and will count as having ‘passed across’ the other model.

 

imagine a melee orientated model with a large base might pass a lot of enemy units during normal, charge and pile-in move.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

actual FAQ states clearly:

Q: Some abilities require a model that can fly to ‘pass across’ a model from an enemy unit. How exactly does this work?

A: In order for a model to pass across another, part of the moving model’s base must have moved across any part of the other model’s base. To determine if this is the case, trace the flying model’s move across the battlefield, checking to see if its base passed across any part of the other model’s base at any point in its move. Note that this means that the flying model can move up to an enemy model so that their bases overlap, and then move back, and will count as having ‘passed across’ the other model. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
On 7/9/2018 at 1:13 PM, EMMachine said:

If you land at the same position it's not "passed across" for me. Because you can't draw a line from the startingpoint to the endpoint and crossing any bases doing it.

The FAQ is clear that you can move up to a unit and overlap the base then move back. As long as the model has sufficient movement to end up back where they’ve started then they’ve moved.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • -3
14 minutes ago, Fluttershy said:

imagine a melee orientated model with a large base might pass a lot of enemy units during normal, charge and pile-in move.

but a large base will struggle moving over a unit if it is actually bigger than 3" because  the model will be unable to land, when moving 3" (after he has to end his movement as close or closer to the model he's starting the movement.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • -5
2 hours ago, Fluttershy said:

why? u might "land" on the same position, as you started your pile-in move. u might be able to move 1/2" inch across the enemy unit/model and move 1/2" back. no placing problem, 3+ D3 mortal wounds - profit.

if u pass 2 or more units you're allowed to pick only 1 unit and roll a dice, right?

If you land at the same position it's not "passed across" for me. Because you can't draw a line from the startingpoint to the endpoint and crossing any bases doing it.

Edited by EMMachine

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  

×