Next Step - Opinion on Khorne 1000 points

RuneBrush

I'm after a few suggestions and opinions on what to do to get my Bloodbound up to 1000 points for the open gaming day up at WHW on the 14th.  It's looking hopeful that I should finish my Lord of Khorne over the coming weekend which will give me 720 points painted.

Mighty Lord of Khorne        - 140 *
Bloodsecrator                - 120
Skullgrinder                 - 80
Khorgorath                   - 80
15 Blood Warriors            - 300

Pretty reasonable considering I only started painting at the end of May ;) However painting up 280 points is going to be pretty tight over the next 3 weeks especially as I need to varnish and base everything (and real life will likely get in the way too).

Now I've had a few ideas that I *think* I could get painted in time:

• 20 Bloodreavers & Bloodstoker (would allow a Goreblade Warband) = 980 points*
  • 20 Bloodletters = 920 points**
  • 10 Bloodletters & 1 Skullcannon = 1000 points*
  • 5 Skullreapers = 860 points
  • 5 Wraithmongers = 860 points***

(* these two may be tight on time)
(** I may also have time for the Bloodstoker)
(*** Don't think this is wise as I've never used them before)

But I'm really not sure! I envisage adding all of them as time goes on :)

My "long-term plan" is to not use the Bloodreavers in my army, however I don't have an issue with using them short-term.  I know it's a bit controversial but I just prefer the look of this sea of red armoured champions chanting Khorne's name with Khorne's favour in the way of Daemons alongside.  Sadly the unarmoured look of frothing beserkers just doesn't work for me (plus I use public transport to get to places and unarmoured units tend to require a larger model count).

I do intend to add in a contingent of fast moving units in the future too (flesh hounds, chariots and juggernaughts etc), but guess that having just a small unit isn't going to work that well?