New - death - what paints?

Hi there!

I'm about to buy the 'Start collecting: skeleton horde' set.  I noticed that on the GW site there are 25 paints recommended for this set with a price of about 75 quid in total.  As a total noob to model painting this seems a bit pricey.

Can anyone shed any light on what the minimum paints needed to paint a set like this?  Are there certain paints that you would always use / can a small range of colours be mixed or are there different textures of paint for different purposes?  I realise there's a lot I don't know here!

black and white paints are always good to own, add some primary colors and you can mix the shades you want. Ofc for skeletons you should pick up a bone color, and I would probably suggest a brown ink(though I'm too cheap to buy inks myself, I just add water to colored paints). For weapons, you might want to just go with the basic metal paints, I gave up on non-metallic-metals and switched back to metal paints myself. the nmm was too much work :D  and lastly, what kind of bases do you want?

I started out with a start collecting flesh eater courts and I had 7 paints in total + a black primer.

2 hours ago, spoon_fed05 said:

Hi there!

I'm about to buy the 'Start collecting: skeleton horde' set.  I noticed that on the GW site there are 25 paints recommended for this set with a price of about 75 quid in total.  As a total noob to model painting this seems a bit pricey.

Can anyone shed any light on what the minimum paints needed to paint a set like this?  Are there certain paints that you would always use / can a small range of colours be mixed or are there different textures of paint for different purposes?  I realise there's a lot I don't know here!

There is a lot of bone in that set.  Here is quick and easy bone recipe:

1. Corax White Primer

2. Wash with Agrax Earthshade  

3. Hit the raised edges with Ushabti Bone

4. Highlight with Screaming Skull

Here is a vid with Duncan showing you how: